Pie #5 – Peanut Butter Pie

24 Jul

Let’s take a moment for some honesty here, y’all. This whole pie-a-week thing is just not working out on my end. The problem is, we are having a hard time eating all this pie. For reasons unknown, my children aren’t particularly fond of pie, and goodness knows GP and I don’t need to eat a pie a week. Sure, I could share them with my neighbors, but neighbors are a recent development on our street.

Mmmmm!

Mmmmm!

So let’s cut this back to a pie every 2 weeks or so, mkay? Mkay. Do not be dismayed. They will still be sugar filled concoctions, sure to send you straight into a sugar rush, and exceptionally delicious.

Without further blathering, here is the next installment, a favorite from my mother-in-law. You know it must be good, because even the children eat it.

Moar pie!

Moar pie!

Peanut Butter Pie
For the crust:
1 sleeve of graham crackers, pulverized with either a food processor or a rolling pin, depending on how much aggression you need to work out that particular day.
1 stick of butter, melted

Mix together and press into your pie plate. I did a bad job, because I have never made a graham cracker pie crust before and because an almost-4 year old was “helping,” aka getting in the way and making things needlessly harder. Bake at 375 for 8 min, the let it cool.

Not so lovely crust

Not so lovely crust

For the artery-clogging filling:
4 cups whipped cream or cool whip. I made fresh whipped cream because
ever since I read the ingredients on a package of cool whip, I just can’t bring myself to eat it.
12 oz cream cheese, softened
1 cup peanut butter
1.5 cups powdered sugar

Mix the cream cheese and powdered sugar, then add the peanut butter. Fold in the whipped cream, which is the most horrible step ever because it requires patience, which is not easy to come up with when your children keep trying to eat it all while you are trying to mix it together.

Folding time!

Folding time!

So then, pile it into your crust. Technically, the filling is enough for 2 pies, so you could make 2 and either share or freeze one. Or, you could pile it all in one crust and have the most overfilled pie ever. Or you could do like I did, and put a few scoops into some ramekins for an afternoon snack. But sure not to do what I also did, which is to accidentally drop a ramekin, only to have it break and dump filling all over the floor you just mopped the day before.

My assistant.

My assistant.

Sprinkle some mini chocolate chips or chopped nuts on top, then put it in the fridge for a few hours until it thickens up. Easy peasy!

2 Responses to “Pie #5 – Peanut Butter Pie”

  1. katiesci July 24, 2014 at 3:13 pm #

    Yum! I had the same thing happen with me and cool whip. It does come in handy sometimes as a lactose intolerant person because it doesn’t actually contain any dairy.

    Can you explain the “fold in” thing? I always feel like I do it wrong.

  2. Mary Anne in Kentucky July 28, 2014 at 7:26 am #

    Apparently your children have no problem eating pie before it’s baked!
    I’ve never made peanut butter pie, much as I like it when someone else makes it, and now I can see why. I’m mostly a fruit pie person, which must be where the phrase “easy as pie” comes from.

Thoughts?

