Pie #4: Blueberry crumb pie

13 Jul

Well, I planned to have this post up on Friday night, because my Friday nights are so glamorous that I really have nothing better to do than write about pie, but then…catastrophe! No no, the pie didn’t turn out bad. Worse.

Our internet went out.

And my phone died.

So I pretty much just gave up and went to bed early. Then yesterday was Biscuit’s second birthday, so I did in fact have better things to do than write about pie.

Don't eat too many before you pour it in!

Don’t eat too many before you pour it in!

Just before we left for our vacation, my friend Katrina brought by a whole box of blueberries. With no time to do anything proper to them, I shoved them in the freezer like a good little hoarder. Then, I took a limited sample, non-scientific survey on Facebook and twitter, pitting key lime pie against blueberry pie. Blueberry won. I think I had the deciding vote.

Like with so many things I do, I just made this recipe up as I went, scribbling notes and measurements on a notepad. Sort of like in the lab. Unlike in the lab, however, I am not waiting a ridiculously long time to transfer these notes to the “official” lab notebook (all you scientists know you’re guilty of it!) but proceeding in a timely fashion. Originally I had planned to do a beautiful and fancy lattice top, but my laziness took over. Instead, I added a crumb topping because it’s the favorite of my old running buddy, Erica (@sassysparky on Twitter), and way easier to make.

Just look at the loverly crumbs.

Just look at the loverly crumbs.

In the spirit of full honesty, Coco didn’t like it, but she’s a strange one who doesn’t like fruit, so don’t trust her judgement. I personally think it tastes wonderful, which, due to my sinus-infection dulled tastebuds, means it must be jam packed with great flavor. Here’s an idea, though: you make it yourself, and then decide whether you like it or not. Okay? Okay.

Bubbly and ready to eat.

Bubbly and ready to eat.

Blueberry Crumb pie

For filling:
4 cups blueberries (fresh or frozen)
2/3 cup sugar
juice of 1/2 a lemon (~3 tbs or so)
some lemon zest, or not, depending on how lazy you feel

Mix together in a bowl, eating some if you want but definitely leaving most in the bowl. Pour into an unbaked pie crust.

For crumb topping:
1/3 cup flour
1/3 cup brown sugar
3 tbs butter

Cut butter into flour and sugar until you have crumbs. Spread evenly on top of the pie filling.

Bake at 350 F for about 40 minutes, until bubbly and the crust is a golden brown. Allow it to cool before slicing and enjoying!

Sad, sad pie. About to be eaten.

Sad, sad pie. About to be eaten.

One last thing before you rush out to start baking – in an effort to not annoy my actual real life friends on Facebook I started a Facebook page for the blog, which you can find here. Like it if you want to get posts in your Facebook feed (or just to boost my ego), or don’t like it if you’re happy following via twitter or email. I am not planning on posting much more to the page than just blog posts, since the whole point is to not annoy people by filling up their feeds. We all have that friend we’ve blocked because of the 1000 pictures of flowers or the 8 million quizzes they post every day, right? Yeah, I’m trying not to be that guy.

Enjoy the rest of your Sunday, everyone! See you next week for some posts about something or other. Oh, like Biscuit’s blanket, which I finished the night before his birthday!

2 Responses to “Pie #4: Blueberry crumb pie”

  1. Mary Anne in Kentucky July 14, 2014 at 7:05 pm #

    How could there be anything better to do than write about pie? (Except birthdays. But in my family those require pie.)
    No internet, no phone, but there was pie!

    • Erica @SassySparky July 20, 2014 at 9:18 am #

      Awww thanks for the shout out – I miss our long run Sundays! This looks delicious, too! I really love that combo of lemon and blueberry…

Thoughts?

