Pie #3: Ice Box Lemon

6 Jul

Whew, it has been a whirlwind of a week and a half. Last weekend we were up in New Jersey for a family reunion/beach trip with part of GP’s family. I had no idea there are beaches where the water is cold in July. It was down right frigid! I’ve swam in warmer waters in March down here in the South. I was also confused by the fact that the temps never got out of the 70s, and that, despite being by a giant body of water (otherwise known as the Atlantic Ocean) it was not humid. My theory? When we drove across the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel we actually went through a portal to a new and mysterious land where it remains cold all year long. Somehow the rest of the family got there too, so there must be lots of portals. Maybe they’re all disguised as toll roads.

Ingredients

Ingredients. That’s the whole list.

We departed this strange world and reemerged in the land of heat and humidity (aka North Carolina) on Monday only to have my family come in for a visit on Tuesday! My brother and his family stayed and played until yesterday, and Biscuit and I dropped my mom off at the airport today. It’s always sad to see everyone go, especially since it means no more older cousins around to entertain my children for me and wear them out so heartily that they sleep a full hour past their normal waking time. It was like magic. Sweet, sweet, magical sleep.

On the 4th of July, which is my second favorite holiday, we had a little birthday party for my kiddos, since they both have birthdays in July. Naturally we had cake, but we also had pie, because….um….well, we didn’t really have a reason. Oh, here’s one: I said I was going to do this pie a week thing here on the blog, so I made a pie.

This week it was Ice Box Lemon Pie, AKA Lemon Meringue Pie. It’s my mother’s favorite pie, the recipe is from her mother, and it is dead simple to make. The filling has 3, yes 3, ingredients, and it requires absolutely no cooking. You don’t even need a mixer. In fact, if you are feeling spectacularly lazy, you really don’t even need a pie crust. Just grab a spoon and eat it straight out of the bowl. I won’t judge.

So tempting, must resist!

So tempting, must resist!

Ice Box Lemon Pie

Ingredients:
1 can sweetened condensed milk
2 eggs, separated
3 lemons, or 1/2 cup juice

Mix these 3 together and pour into a prepared pie crust. Use the whites to make meringue, then brown and chill a few hours before serving.

Aaaand, it separated. Boo.

Aaaand, it separated. Boo.

Sadly, this particular incarnation did not turn out as pretty as I had hoped. See up there at the top? The meringue pulled away from the crust. The best way to prevent this from happening is to make sure that the meringue touches the crust all the way around. While I thought mine had, apparently I needed to smoosh it a bit more up against the crust to keep it in place.

Please don't lick your computer screen.

Please don’t lick your computer screen.

Oh well, pretty or not it tasted delicious! Wait, I think there might be a slice left in the fridge………

One Response to “Pie #3: Ice Box Lemon”

  1. Mary Anne in Kentucky July 8, 2014 at 7:57 am #

    My mother used to make icebox lemon pie a lot during the war, because sweetened condensed milk didn’t count on your sugar ration. Maybe she got tired of it then, because I don’t think she ever made it when I was little, before we were both allergic to lemon and to eggs. Now that I’m not, I should make some.

Thoughts?

