Pie #2: Banana Cream pie

22 Jun

Hey, look at me! I’ve managed to follow through with this Pie a Week Project for 2 whole weeks now! How’s that for commitment and follow through? I baked it on Friday and meant to get the post up last night, but I got distracted by the new Thor movie. Priorities people, priorities.

This particular pie has been approved by myself and GP, and our good friend Katrina, who so heartily approved she at 2 whole slices! That’s my kinda gal right there. Something is definitely wrong with her husband, though, because he wouldn’t even try it. Who turns down free pie?

This recipe is pretty simple to make, although it does take some time on the stove top. But if you’re like me, you’ll just turn up the heat to make it cook faster because you have other things to do. Like, uh, go for a run. And sweep. And do my actual job that pays me so I can afford to make pies.

Still warm out of the oven.

Still warm out of the oven.

Just look at that gorgeous meringue, would you? You know what I love about meringue-topped pies? 2 things: 1) they have meringue, which is basically fluffy perfection in and of itself, and 2) they are lovely. I love those little beads that form on the top after the pie has cooled down. I know some people don’t really like how the beads look, but I don’t really know how to prevent it from happening. So too bad, just learn to love it, people.

Love those beads!

Love those beads!

Whether you like the meringue beads or not, this is a creamy and delicious pie. The only thing I would change is to add more bananas; there are only 2, layered along the bottom, and I think it would be much better to have another layer of banana slices in the middle of the cream. I would also change the quality of these photographs. It is really hard to take pictures of pie, I need to get another setup for pie-picture taking.

Yes, it is as good as it looks!

It tastes better than this picture suggests, trust me.

Right-o, on to the recipe. This is a sort of mash-up of two different recipes, one from a Home Economics Teachers cookbook from 1975 and one from an issue of Food Network Magazine. I’m only including the recipe for the filling; either a baked crust or a graham cracker crust will do, and the meringue, while heavenly, is optional. But I suggest a baked crust and, of course, the meringue.

Banana Cream Pie filling
2 cups milk
4 egg yolks
3/4 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 cup corn starch
2 tbs butter, cut up into small pieces
2 bananas, sliced

1. Heat the milk in a saucepan over medium heat.
2. Mix the egg yolks with the sugar and vanilla extract. Beat until smooth and pale yellow, then add in the cornstarch and mix well.
3. Slowly add the warm milk to the eggs, mixing continually. Then place it all back in the saucepan, and turn up the heat to medium high because you are impatient and hate stirring. Or leave it at medium and just have more patience. Your call.
4. Whisk the mixture continually while cooking until it begins to bubble and thicken up, about 3 to 5 minutes. Once it starts thickening, add the butter all at once and cook a few minutes more. Remove from the heat at let it sit for a minute.
5. Slice up the bananas and layer them on the bottom of the pie crust. Pour the cooled filling on top. (Here’s what I would do in the future: layer of bananas, half the filling mix, 2nd layer of bananas, rest of the filling).
6. Make the meringue and place on top of the warm pie. Bake at 375 deg until browned and lovely.
7. Let cool at room temp for a couple of hours, then move to the fridge.
8. Eat it, and share it with friends after a long afternoon at the pool!

3 Responses to “Pie #2: Banana Cream pie”

  1. sophiebowns June 22, 2014 at 3:19 pm #

    This looks really delicious!

    • Gena June 22, 2014 at 3:28 pm #

      Thanks! Let me know if you try it.

  2. katrina June 22, 2014 at 5:09 pm #

    Sooo yummy. I also have no idea what’s wrong with my husband. Who says no to free pie? Let alone a pie that looked like that? Weirdo. Eager for this week’s pie!

Thoughts?

