A productive and crafty morning

18 Jun

This morning started out pretty poorly, what with Biscuit being ornery and me having to make an extra trip home after dropping the kids off at school because I didn’t bring water play clothes for Coco. So I was in a pretty grumpy mood by 8:45 am. Fortunatley, as the saying goes, music soothes the savage beast, and rocking to some tunes while pounding out 5 miles of speed work on the beautiful greenway did, in fact, raise my spirits. When I got home I began to execute a plan that has been fermenting in my brain for awhile. See, I have this really strange desire to learn how to cross stitch. But since I don’t know how, I decided that I really need to do some more embroidery. I did a tiny bit ages ago and really like it, and now I want to do more. Probably because I’m tired of working on Biscuit’s “baby” blanket. Which, by the way, looks like this now:

6.5 squares to go!

6.5 squares to go!

This Genius and Terrific Idea is to make little embroidered quilt squares with the kid’s names on them. Originally I thought to just hang them in their rooms, but I think it might be even cuter to hang them on the wall outside their room. A sort of “This room belongs to:” type thing, only more colorful and fun. At least until they are old enough to be embarrassed by the stuff their mom makes for them. I dug through my old fabric pieces and found some odds and ends of blue batik that works for Biscuit. Bonus: I already have blue embroidery floss that perfectly coordinates. Score 1 for me. Buried even further down were some leftovers from Coco’s baby blanket. I laid out some patterns.

A piece-y mess

A piece-y mess

Not so messy

Not so messy

For Biscuit’s I just went for random placement of pieces that would yield a rectangle. For Coco’s the goal was even color distribution. I dug out and dusted off my sewing machine, which has sat in a closet for about a year now. Then I sewed and I pressed and I sewed and I pressed and after about 30 minutes I had these two cute little quilt squares.

I like it!

Much neater, and Coco will love it. Because it has pink.

Much neater, and Coco will love it. Because it has pink.

The plan is to embroider the kid’s names on them and frame them, but not to actually quilt them up. Although I was attempting to make them 8X10, they both turned out slightly larger. Eventually I’ll have to trim them to fit a frame, but for now, I’m leaving them. Now I just have to brush up on my embroidery skills and get to work! This will either take a matter of weeks, or a year. Here’s hoping for the former.

One Response to “A productive and crafty morning”

  1. katiesci June 18, 2014 at 1:27 pm #

    Oooh, I love them!

Thoughts?

