Pies! All pies!

13 Jun

Here we are, moved in to our new house for almost 2 whole weeks, but still far from being unpacked. Our bedroom looks like a storage container, and there are no pictures hanging to identify that an actual family lives in this abode and not just a group of squatters that brought their own furniture and food. There are, however, and astounding amount of toys spread throughout the house. And hey, the kitchen’s completely set up!

To break in the new kitchen, the kids and I made a delicious pie yesterday – Strawberry Rhubarb, which just so happens to be GP’s favorite. While baking I had this genius and ambitious idea, which I ran by twitter to pretty good reception.

Here it is: I bake a different pie every week for as long as I can, blogging the recipe and delicious food pictures as I go. Sound like fun? I think so, too! Plenty tweeps had suggestions for types of pie, so I now have several weeks worth of ideas to keep me busy. Add any off your own suggestions in the comments!

Pie is an acceptable breakfast food, right? Because I want a slice right now.

Pie is an acceptable breakfast food, right? Because I want a slice right now.

And so, in a strange moment of planning-aheadedness, I took lots of pictures while baking yesterday. Pictures of pie crusts and delicious filling, pictures of beautifully browned crumbles and bright strawberries and rhubarbs.

And then tragedy struck.

Somewhere in the transfer between camera and computer, the photos disappeared. Well, actually, the computer decided to restart itself right during the transfer and the pictures just vanished. Sad times, man, sad times. That’s about 20 fuzzy pictures of pie that I will never get back.

Fortunately, we are not complete gluttons in this house, and there is still pie left in the plate, providing us with a small bit of evidence of both process and product. Oh, and can someone explain what is wrong with my children? Neither of them will eat the pie! They spit it out as if it tasted of fish oil and grass clippings, and if they didn’t look so much like us I would think there was a switch up at the hospital.

Do you see the restraint we exercised? Impressive, I know.

Do you see the restraint we exercised? Impressive, I know.

Right, back to the main point of this post: PIE!

This particular recipe came from my mother in law, although I’m not sure who she got it from originally. It’s a pretty simple pie, even if you go to the trouble to make your own pie crust, which I do because I find making pie crusts to be a very enjoyable activity. You don’t have to tell me, I already know I’m a bit odd.

Strawberry Rhubarb Crumble Pie

For the filling:
2 cups thinly sliced rhubarb
2 cups sliced strawberries
1 1/4 cups sugar
1/3 cups flour
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg

Mix together dry ingredients, then add the fruit. Pour into a pie crust and top with the crumble.

For the crumble, cream together 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup butter, 1 cup flour and a pinch of baking soda. Spread over the pie filing.

Bake for 10 minutes at 400deg, then reduce heat to 350deg and bake another 40 minutes until it smells delicious and is a lovely brown color. GP suggests serving it warm with vanilla ice cream, but it is quite yummy at room temp with no ice cream too.

What do you think? Are you going to try it? Let me know if you do, I’d love to hear how it turned out!

4 Responses to “Pies! All pies!”

  1. katrina June 13, 2014 at 8:43 am #

    1st things first; you did make sure to pack Joes picture on top so you can find and display it quickly, right?
    2nd: did you get your hood issue figured out?

    Pie looks great. Wish I was more domestic, but alas I am Katrina.

    • Mom June 13, 2014 at 11:00 am #

      You are turning into your Grandma Violet who loved to bake pies and pound cake! Chocolate pies were her favorite to make.

  2. Mary Anne in Kentucky June 13, 2014 at 1:45 pm #

    Pie, whether real or virtual, is always a good idea. I don’t like rhubarb, which is one of the times when my parents would question whether I could really be their daughter.
    If you aren’t overwhelmed with suggestions, may I suggest Amber Pie? It’s one of my great-aunt’s recipes, and basically it’s Chess Pie with blackberry or strawberry preserves substituted for the sugar. Pretty, too.

    • Gena June 13, 2014 at 2:15 pm #

      I’ve never heard of Amber Pie before, but that sounds fantastic! Do you have a good recipe for chess pie to go with it? I have made chess pie once, but wasn’t super wowed with the recipe.

Thoughts?

