Tales and Tails

17 Mar

Oooo, look at all the dust around here! I would say that things have been busy since I last posted, but that would just be a lie. Honestly, things have been mostly the same, only I have been lazy. But I do have a couple of updates for you all and a couple of pictures of something I have been working on.

20140315-084107.jpg

Pile-o-parts

First up, big news: I started my job at the end of January! Job searching was an arduous and defeating process, but this particular job fell in my lap. My postdoc advisor left his old position and took a new one at a contract research organization. He contacted me sometime this fall, asking if I would be interested in working for him, part time, from a distance. Well, that’s just about perfect! So the kids are in daycare/preschool 2 days a week and I get my work hours in whenever I can manage. It also means I still have 3 days at home with the kiddos for now! The goal is to make this position full time once the lab getsmore contracts and work, but for now I’m only needed on a part time basis.

20140315-084118.jpg

The headless Hobbes.

Second tale to tell is that, surprise surprise, we will be moving again this summer! I mean really, you’d think that moving is our favorite summer activity, but you’d be wrong. However, we will be at our next location for several years, if not forever, so we are going to do something new and drastic.

We’re going to buy a house.

20140315-084127.jpg

Hobbes doesn’t care about home buying. He just wants a body.

What?!? I know, I know. Between us we have 5 degrees, 2 kids, a dog, a cat, and lots of belongings, but we’ve never lived in one place long enough to justify buying. Now, at long last, we can join the world of homeowners. The thought was really exciting until we realized we know absolutely nothing about purchasing a home. Man, we have so much to learn. Got any tips? Leave them in a comment below or send them via twitter or facebook! We could use all the advice you have to give!

And for the tail: these pictures you see  are of Hobbes. Our good friend had a baby, oh, 6 months ago, and he needed a Hobbes all of his own. Naturally I decided to make a crocheted one, because I would be nothing if not over-ambitious in my crochet abilities. I made his head really quickly and then he just sat around in a bag until the past 2 weeks. Then I got to work and finished all the other body pieces.

20140315-084140.jpg

Making friends with Anna and Elsa.

I learned something very important in the making of Hobbes. I learned that I really despise crochet. I can’t “read” my work like I can with knitting. I can barely even count stitches, and since they seem to move every round I can barely keep track of where rounds begin. I just don’t get it, man. I can knit intricate and delicate pieces, but crocheting in a circle is hard. Real hard. Don’t even get me started on sewing crocheted pieces together. It took about 3 tries to get the head on right. Maybe more; there is a good possibility I have repressed some head-sewing memories.

20140315-084311.jpg

Pass me the coffee!

So now that Hobbes is done, I’m going to be making another toy. Coco, like every other girl in the world right now, is in LOVE with Frozen. She has Elsa and Anna dolls, courtesy of her Nana, but she does not have an Olaf. Having apparently already forgotten the torture of making Hobbes, I decided I could make her an Olaf. Then I went and told her I would, so now I’m bound by obligation. This time, however, I’m going to knit it. And since I am cheap frugal,  I’m going to design a pattern myself instead of buying one. This could take 3 days or it could take 3 years. Either way I’m probably going to need some more coffee first.

4 Responses to “Tales and Tails”

  1. katrina March 17, 2014 at 9:25 am #

    OMG OMG!! It’s for our Calvin!!! You’re so amazing!

    • Gena March 17, 2014 at 9:28 am #

      Yup! I just need to get him in the mail! Or bring him to you!

  2. Leta Jester March 17, 2014 at 10:53 am #

    He looks good now that he is all together.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. Sue March 17, 2014 at 1:13 pm #

    Good luck in your house-buying adventure! It will be so worth it. What area are you buying in? They say most people can find their perfect house in 3-5 houses. It took John and I nearly 30 houses. But we were very specific in what we wanted.

    As far as knitting and/or crocheting, I’ve done them both. It depends on what you are making. The more you do crocheting the more you will understand their patterns. I googled crocheting stitches. Thank God for Youtube!

Thoughts?

