POP!, the final product

19 Aug

Ok, I know you have all been refreshing your feed readers daily in hopes of seeing the finished product of this bad boy. Or, if you’re like me, you forgot to ever move your feeds from Google Reader, so you haven’t read any new blog posts by anyone since July. Whatevs!

Fantastic

Fantastic

When I las left you, I had finished knitting all these cute but annoying little squares and just needed to sew them together and block the whole thing. Well, let me tell you, it was much easier than I expected! I mean, I had to use a crochet hook to sew them together, which could easily have ended in disaster since my crochet skills are, to put it nicely, subpar. But it was fast and pretty easy.

Oh, the ends!

Oh, the ends!

Of course then I had about a thousand little ends to weave in. Like 2 or 3 for every square. I do like sewing up knitted objects, but that’s sweaters and stuff. Weaving in ends? No. Just no. Someone needs to invent a knitting technique that leaves no ends anywhere. Even the cast on end. You know what? Someone probably already has and I just need to find it on YouTube.

Do you see the torture of the ends? Do you see???

Do you see the torture of the ends? Do you see???

But hey, I got it done with time to spare! Not only did I finish it before we went to Colorado to meet the new baby, I finished it before the baby was even BORN.

Blocking on the magic blocking towel.

Blocking on the magic blocking towel.

I think that’s a first, for real. In fact, I haven’t even started Biscuit’s blanket yet, and he’s 13 months old now. Speaking of babies, prepare to awww or squee, whichever is your cup of tea.

Man, I love babies.

Man, I love babies.

Pattern: POP! by Tin Can Knits

Yarn: KnitPicks Chroma for the colors, Wool of the Andes (maybe) for the white

Notes: It got boring and tedious, but I think it’s worth the effort. It gives a really gorgeous product, and would look just as good with more subdued colors.

2 Responses to “POP!, the final product”

  1. Mary Anne in Kentucky August 20, 2013 at 7:55 am #

    You got it finished before the baby was even born??? I have never in my life managed to do that. That’s worth all the horrible ends. Taking a photo of the work in progress to the baby shower will never catch on….

  2. L August 31, 2013 at 8:40 pm #

    It’s GORGEOUS. Great job!

Thoughts?

