Pink lemonade cupcakes

24 May

There was a bakery back where I went to grad school where you could buy cake by the slice. All their cakes were delicious, but my personal favorite was the summer seasonal Pink Lemonade Cake. Light and tart pink cake with an equally flavorful yellow frosting.

A month or so ago I saw pink lemonade boxed mix and coordinating frosting so I thought we would give them a try and make cupcakes.

They were tasty, but not the tart flavor I wanted. So, I decided to turn to that fount of recipe knowledge, the Internet.

2013-05-18 11.50.51

The Internet provided my with this recipe, straight from the Betty Crocker website. I will admit that I did not use her products, but her recipe turned out delicious. Here’s what you need:

For the cake/cupcakes

  • 1 box of vanilla cake mix, the SuperMoist varieties
  • 3/4 cup frozen pink lemonade mix, thawed
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 3 eggs
  • Pink food coloring if desired

Mix it all together and bake according to package directions.

For the frosting:

  • 2 containers Whipped Fluffy white frosting
  • 6 tbs frozen pink lemonade mix, thawed
  • Food coloring and sprinkles if desired.

Coco was acting as artistic director for this baking experiment, thus the pink cupcakes, pink frosting, and pink sprinkles. Maybe when Biscuit is old enough to have a say everything will be green or yellow. I can only hope.

2013-05-18 11.50.43

So, did they have the desired taste? Yes, they are pretty close to the taste I remember, although the cake itself was not as moist. But, if looking for a delicious and easy treat to take to that Memorial Day cookout this weekend, give this a try!

2 Responses to “Pink lemonade cupcakes”

  1. Mary Anne in Kentucky May 24, 2013 at 9:28 pm #

    Oh, drool! This reminds me of the Hummingbird Cake I used to get at the Ladies’ Aid booth at the Anderson County fair. I won’t get there this summer, and I have a vague recollection that the last time I was there I heard that the old lady who made them had either died or gotten too sick to produce them. You inspire me to try to recreate some.

  2. vihoang17 June 3, 2013 at 5:30 pm #

    Reblogged this on Cupcakes of all Sorts.

Thoughts?

