POP!

9 Apr

Disclaimer: If you have any reason to expect a hand knit baby blanket in the next few months and would rather be surprised, STOP READING! Warning – Pictures ahead! 

 

Still here? Okay.

Back around Valentine’s day Tin Can Knits had a pattern give away. Any pattern for free! One is the super cute POP! blanket, which can be knit as a full sized blanket or a baby blanket. Since someone I know is having a baby in June, I thought this would be a perfect project. Not only is it cute, I get to learn some new techniques!

20130409-134924.jpg

Gratuitous yarn picture.

Each square starts in the center, requiring a pinhole cast on using a crochet hook. I had to look this one up, but it’s really quite easy. Then there’s a lot of increasing and making a bigger circle until, finally, you put on some corners to make the thing a square.

Each square is really fast. I put down 6 in about 3 evenings of knitting. I thought I had done 5, but when I pulled them out of my bag to take a picture, there was another one! So either I knit it and forgot about it, or some sneaky little elves live in the house and knit at night. Like the elves that help out the cobbler. Anyway, I need 14 more squares, I think, to make a baby blanket. Then all those squares get sewn together for the final product.

20130409-134933.jpg

Yes, they are square. They just need to be blocked first.

I was really expecting the colors in this yarn to be more saturated. The look it in the pictures, but in real life they’re a bit more subdued than I wanted. I hope that against the white background they will really, well, pop out more and appear brighter. Even if they don’t I think it’s going to be really cool when it’s all done.

Despite being a little bit fiddly, I am enjoying knitting these squares. I might just make another blanket after I’m done with this one. I mean come on, I never made a baby blanket for Biscuit.

2 Responses to “POP!”

  1. katiesci April 9, 2013 at 7:32 pm #

    Cute! I love the colors on the white background!

  2. maureen15 April 9, 2013 at 7:39 pm #

    I love that chroma, it’s really cool how each circle is a different color scheme!

Thoughts?

