Thousands of pages later…

5 Nov

I know you’re all dying to know whether I managed to read anything truly frightening during the month of October. The short answer: no. The long answer: none of the books I read really scared me, but most of them were actually really good reads. Here’s the rundown of my October reading in no particular order. You can follow me/friend me/whatever it’s called on Goodreads. I’m not including links because I am lazy and because I expect the babies will wake up from their naps pretty soon.

Ratings are out of 5 stars, just so ya know.

1. Alice in Zombieland – 2 stars. As I said before, it’s the first in a YA series about, well, zombies, and it’s okay. Interesting take on zombies. Not much else to say there.

2. The Scorch Trials – 1 star

3. The Death Cure – 1 star. This and the Scorch Trials are parts 2 and 3 of the Maze Runner Trilogy, which I only finished because I felt compelled to see how the story ended. I really shouldn’t have bothered.

4. The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde – 4 stars. You all know the story.

5. The Picture of Dorian Grey – 3 stars. To be honest I actually only read about 20 pages of this one. I had started it back in the spring and just never finished it. Parts of it dragged along, but the ending was perfect. I’m assuming everyone knows the basic story here.

6. The Passage – 4 stars. Fantastic! Best book I read all month! First in a series (the 2nd just came out), post-apocalypse vampire novel, the book follows several story lines, has lots of action, great character development, and sets the stage for what I really hope is going to be a great second novel. I’m currently #18 on the waiting list, so it’s probably going to be awhile.

7. Drood – 3 stars. I was actually hoping this one would be scary, but it wasn’t. Instead it was a bit of a psychological thriller. Left me wondering which parts of the novel had really happened and which were only in the narrator’s mind.

8. Divergent – 3 stars

9. Insurgent – 3 stars. Insurgent and Divergent are the first 2 in a series of YA novels. They are fun and engaging, somewhat like the Hunger Games (but not quite as good). Basic premise is that people are segregated into groups based on traits that are seen as most useful according to each group (the groups are called Dauntless, Erudite, Amity, Abnegation, and Candor). The story so far is what happens when harmony among the groups no longer reigns.

10. Under the Never Sky – 2 stars. Yet another first in a post-apocalypse YA series. World’s in turmoil, couple of kids are going to save humanity, blah blah blah. It’s fun, but fluffy, even for YA.

11. House of Leaves – 1 star. This is apparently one of those books you either love or hate, and the one that most disappointed me. In my opinion, the author tried too hard to do something new and inventive and wound up doing something annoying and convoluted. The story at the heart of the book (the story of a house) was great, but the rest of it clouded that story and made it hard to read. I only finished by sheer force of will.

So, that’s it for October! I’m estimating here, but I think I totaled somewhere around 4500 pages for the month. Someone asked me how I manage to read so much with 2 kids and the only answer I can give is that I can read incredibly fast. Give me a few uninterrupted hours and I can put away several hundred pages easily. The only person I know who reads faster is my Mom.

I now need a break from the post-apocalypse genre and need some really good plain old fiction. A nice dense drama would be nice. Suggestions?

4 Responses to “Thousands of pages later…”

  1. Dave Bridges (@dave_bridges) November 5, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

    You read all of this in October??? wow… I read (and loved) the passage, and am looking forward to getting the twelve

  2. katiedid November 5, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

    Wow, I think I’ll have to pick up The Passage! I agree that House of Leaves is a love it or hate it; I love it but I can easily see why someone would hate it. See also: Infinite Jest.

    I have no recommendations at the moment! I’m too annoyed/ disappointed that Stranger in a Strange Land ended up being so stupid.

  3. Mary Anne in Kentucky November 6, 2012 at 7:32 am #

    I remember mildly liking House of Leaves, but I remember absolutely nothing about it. Does this mean I have to read it again?
    Plain old fiction? Dense drama? I have nothing to recommend.

  4. Kendra Benedict November 7, 2012 at 2:32 am #

    I have been enjoying The Mitford Series that my Nanny Benedict gave to me for Christmas years ago. I never read them, and I’m at a very slow pace (school comes first!), but they are sweet and funny. I will be ready for the day I can spend more time reading what I want instead of the schoolaholic requirements. 🙂 Miss you.

Thoughts?

