Trying to scare myself

8 Oct

First off, Happy Thanksgiving to all my Canadian readers!

Now on to the post.

It’s October (in case you didn’t know), the month of Halloween (also in case you didn’t know)! I love me some Halloween goodness because of the reruns of scary movies on TV. No really, I love horror flicks. I find them quite funny for the most part, but occasionally I find a true gem of a horror movie that I really love. As kids we used to always watch the Poltergeist movies at sleepovers. So. Good. Also, the entire Halloween series. Love! The list of horror movies I want to see is incredibly long, as we are too cheap to go to the theatre ever much. So I’m scouring netflix this year and hoping some really good ones are available. Otherwise I’m having myself another Poltergeist party. You’re invited, btw.

I also loved reading “scary” books, like RL Stein and the “Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark” books. Reading them now as an adult I see how silly they are, but I ate them up as a kid. I think they helped to fuel my paranormal/fantasy/zombie leanings as an adult. That and watching lots of Buffy the Vampire Slayer. 

So, in honor of my love of reading and my love of scary stuff, I am going to read nothing but horror/thriller/post-apocalypse stuff for the entire month of October. I know you’re dying to know what’s on my reading list. I won’t keep you in suspense. (Get it? ‘Cause scary stuff is supposed to be suspenseful? No? Never mind.)

Already finished:

1. Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter – YA, first in a series, it’s okay.

2. The Scorch Trials by James Dashner (part 2 of the Maze Runner Series) YA, pretty bad but I feel compelled to finish the series because I have a problem with not finishing a series even if it’s terrible. Except for the Dark Tower series. Never made it past book 3. But I digress.

3. The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stephenson (how had I never read this before? We even own a copy.)

Currently reading:

4. Drood by Dan Simmons – I may not make it to anything else as this behemoth has 771 pages and I just started it today. But I am optimistic.

To read, if I get to them:

5. The Passage by Justin Cronin – came highly recommended from several friends

6. Divergent by Veronica Roth (the first of a YA series, also highly recommended by friends)

7. The Death Cure by James Dashner (the final of the Maze Runner trilogy because I have that problem I mentioned before)

These last 3 will come in the order that I can get them from the library; I’m on the waiting list for all three, so who knows if I’ll even get them in October or have time to read them. If not, I’ll fill the rest of the month reading Stephen King. Always a good one if you want to creep your adult self out. Or your younger self – I read several of his books when I was probably too young to be reading them. Don’t tell my Mom (hi, Mom!).

Right so. Ever read any of these? What did you think? Got any suggestions of scary movies or books for me? And if you say The Ring I will laugh in your face. Seriously.

3 Responses to “Trying to scare myself”

  1. katiedid October 8, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

    I haven’t read any of those but I do love myself some Stephen King! One of the scariest/ creepiest books I’ve ever read is House of Leaves by Mark Danielewski. Seriously. You should read it.

  2. challoner October 23, 2012 at 11:57 am #

    I HATE scary stuff! I was at a party once (12 years old) and somebody put on Evil Dead 2, which of course is quite funny but at the time it was NOT. FUNNY. I had nightmares all night long for two stinking weeks.

    I have both Drood and House of Leaves sitting on my shelf and have been eyeing up HoL…it comes with huge recommendations but after reading your other commenter, I might be too chicken.

    All that aside, I think your autumn of fear is a great idea!

    • Gena October 23, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

      Drood wasn’t really all that scary in the horror/thriller sense. I’d say it was more intriguing.

Thoughts?

