Freak out!

11 Sep

This is the email I sent GP about the massive meltdown that occurred at Biscuit’s 2 month check up yesterday. 

Oh, man. it was bad.

First, someone messed up the order of appointments, so instead of us being seen at 10:30 (they’re usually really prompt), the dr didn’t come in until 11. By then Coco was already getting fussy and asking to go home. Good sign there.

So they offered to go ahead and give Coco her flu vaccine, which I would have taken her in for at some point anyway, so I said yes since we were already there. The Dr said the nurses prefer to give the flu mist to children instead of the shot. Whatever, no big deal to me.

Naturally, it took another 20 minutes for the nurse to come back with all the shots and things. By this time Biscuit is fussy, so I’ve been bouncing him for about 10 minutes while Coco runs around the room screaming and attempting to run into the hallway (she was both hungry and tired). Finally the nurse arrives and Biscuit has calmed down. We try to give Coco the vaccine. No go. We show her how Douglas (ed – her favorite stuffed animal) takes the vaccine. She laughs. Nurse brings it toward her nose, she FREAKS OUT. She finally gets the vaccine laying across my lap with me physically restraining her arms and head, along with the nurse holding her head still to get the nostrils. Coco screams the whole time and takes a good few minutes to calm down to only sobbing.

She stops sobbing when we show her how Biscuit gets to eat one of his vaccines (rotovirus). Then the nurse takes Biscuit to get his shots on the exam table (2 in one leg, one in the other – she was super fast). I tell Coco how Biscuit is going to cry and she needs to be a good sister and tell him it will be okay and that he is all right. She’s okay until Biscuit starts to scream. Then she screams about 5 times louder. The nurse picks up Biscuit because I am still holding Coco, and he calms down almost immediately. But not Coco. She cries and screams even when we tell her Biscuit is okay, he isn’t crying anymore.

So I sit on the bench and get her to calm down some. Tell her we are going to go home, and I need to buckle Biscuit into his car seat (the nurse had sat him in it, bless her). Coco will not let me put her down. So I sit on the floor next to the car seat and buckle him in with one hand. I ask her to stand up so that I can stand up. She screams. So I somehow manage to stand up holding her 30 lb self without falling over. She finally stops crying when I wrap Biscuit’s blanket on her back. She carries Douglas and a book we brought while I carry her, the bag, and Biscuit in his car seat.

Get to the front desk, can’t remember if I’m supposed to schedule his next appointment. Blanket slips off, Coco screams. I tell the desk clerk that I’ll call about that appointment and leave. Clerk opens the doors for me (bless her too). Carry Coco to the car on the far end of the parking lot, spend a few minutes standing there calming her down. Hold her hand the whole way home, so now my left shoulder is sore from being twisted around to hold her. Repeatedly she mentions how the people had hurt Biscuit, then starts to cry some more.

Eat fruit snacks, which I had promised her way back at the Drs office (why oh why did I not have any in the bag???) while watching Tangled. Make mac and cheese, then watch some more movie. Put her down for a nap about 1:30, because Biscuit got hungry as soon as we got upstairs. Biscuit is fussy from his morning, so I sit in the floor holding her hand through the crib and rocking him. She falls asleep while I’m singing.

My arms are tired from carrying/holding these two so much, and my back is sore from all the rocking! But, ice cream is made, the floor is swept, and the dishwasher is running. I am not doing any more cleaning this afternoon, I think I need/deserve a small break!

BTW, Biscuit is 13.5 lbs, 23 inches long. Right in the middle of the growth chart for length and close to the top for weight.

5 Responses to “Freak out!”

  1. Melinda Bernsdorf September 11, 2012 at 10:28 pm #

    What a day! Good thing mac and cheese and Disney movies have so much soothing power. Consider yourself a super mom for making it through the morning and having enough energy to get some chores done too (and ice cream making. we can’t forget the ice cream). It’s nice to see that Coco is so protective of her little brother. Wish I was close enough to pop by your house and give you a little break 🙂

    • Gena September 12, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

      I wish you could pop in too! Wish we were all back in NC together.

  2. Pam September 12, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

    Someone tried to tell me once that having two didn’t double the work, it exponentially increased it. I didn’t fully understand that until I had 2 at a time. hang in there, The good thing with kids is that nothing stays the same for long. This too shall pass

    • Gena September 12, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

      That’s what I keep telling myself, every time we hit some new “issue” or trouble!

  3. MizFit September 13, 2012 at 6:25 am #

    it shall pass but it be EXHAUSTING WHILE YOU WAIT.
    hugs from Texas.

Thoughts?

