Things I’ve been doing

5 Sep

Playing with the kids!

This goes without saying, I know. But after our massive planning fail, GP and I did manage to get our act together, replace a tire, and take Coco out for a ride in her bike trailer.

Knitting!

Woohoo! It appears that, since I am no longer pregnant, I can knit without the carpal tunnel taking over and making my entire upper body hurt. I gotta say, that was one of the strangest side effects of pregnancy. My arms were hurting with that strange nerve pain tingle thing all the way up into my shoulders.

Now that it’s all gone, I’ve gotten to work on my grey sweater again. I’ve finished almost an entire sleeve! Then just one more sleeve, blocking, and sewing up! And while I do love the sewing up part, I’m kinda dreading it on this behemoth. Really, this is a very long cardigan with long sleeves. It’s gonna take awhile to finish it.

Running!

Hooray for running (and other forms of exercise, although I don’t like them as much). Running has really helped me regain my energy and be more even tempered and nice. Also, being active regularly makes it easier to run around with Coco, squat down to play with her, and carry her giant 30 lb self around when she’s upset/lazy/just wants Mama cuddles. Biscuit isn’t so much of a challenge, since he only weighs about 13 lbs.

Making lots of ice cream!

No, really. In addition to the two I’ve already posted about, I’ve made a regular peach (kind of a flop, but okay) and a chocolate (really yummy, but somehow on the chalky side…odd). Next I’m going to try a cookies and cream variety. If you have a good recipe for it, let me know!

3 Responses to “Things I’ve been doing”

  1. Carolina (@braziliancakes) September 5, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

    you’re going to have to teach me how you can knit with a young baby! Mine doesn’t let me put her down unless she’s asleep. And now that she’s mobile, wants me to participate at all times!

  2. Yum Yucky September 6, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

    Woe to the carpal tunnel. Mine calmed down a lot after the last kid (now 4 years old), but I still get bad numbness in the middle of the night. Only thing that works (because a wrist brace no longer does) is holding my arm over my head. Picture that while doing 7 hours of sleeping. I know surgery will fix this, but I hate to put a wrench in my workouts right now. ((sigh))

  3. Shannon B September 6, 2012 at 12:30 pm #

    I had a strange numbness in my elbows – like pinched nerves – that went all the way down to my fingertips and really bothered my knitting for ages. It started while pregnant and persisted for quite a while – four years or so. Glad yours is gone!

    I love seaming.

    Looooove seaming.

    And thanks to you, I bought my husband an ice cream maker for Christmas – the “Cuisinart 30”, which I hope will be as good as the reviews say it is. I also bought him “Sweet Cream and Sugar Cones” by the BiRite Creamery…looks pretty darn good and I can’t wait until December 26!

Thoughts?

