Peach ginger ice cream

23 Aug

So because of that whole debacle with the ice cream maker last time, wherein we had to purchase a new ice cream maker, and because they aren’t exactly on the cheap side, GP and I swore off buying ice cream forever! Well, maybe not forever, but at least for the rest of the summer. Instead, we shall only make our own.

Every summer I have a hankering for peach ice cream. I blame it on my hometown. Peaches are a major crop in the home county and each summer our town (the county seat) hosts a Peach Festival. Along with all the craft vendors and normal fair food stuff, there is peach everything. Peach ice tea, peach pie, peach you name it we’ve got it. It’s great!

Peach ginger ice cream

So I planned to make peach ice cream, even though GP really wants chocolate. Too bad, the cook gets to make the final call! Then someone on twitter suggested peach and ginger and I thought “Oh my goodness, that sounds delicious!” A bit of internet searching later and I had a plan. Seriously, this is the best ice cream I’ve ever made. Maybe the best I’ve ever had!

Peach ginger ice cream
makes just over 1 quart

2 cups diced peaches
1/4 cup sugar
1 tsp fresh grated ginger (easier to grate if you freeze it first)
1 C heavy cream
1/2 C half and half
1 C milk (you could probably just do 1.5 cups whole milk, but we only have 2%, so I added the little bit of half and half to make it creamier)
1 14 oz can sweetened condensed milk
1/2 to 1 tsp cinnamon

Procedure:

1. I parboiled my peaches to make them easier to peel, because I do not like peach peels! Then diced and macerated in the sugar for 1 hour in the fridge. After the hour I added the ginger, stirred really well, and left it to hang out until our ice maker had enough ice to proceed. (1 more hour should be fine, but mine sat overnight. Our ice maker is sloth-like, apparently. And I didn’t want to load us all in to the car to go buy a bag of ice).

Mmmm….peaches and sugar!

2.Puree the peaches to whatever consistency you like. I made mine really smooth in my blender, since I didn’t want little peach chunks. But if you like chunky, go chunky!

Peach ginger puree

3. Mix all the rest of the ingredients together. Stick it in you ice cream maker and go!

4. Eat and enjoy!

5. Let me know if you make it, I would love to hear your feedback!

One Response to “Peach ginger ice cream”

  1. Shannon B August 23, 2012 at 11:51 am #

    Ooooh! Ginger!

    My favourite ice cream is ginger. Island Farms (Vancouver Island – way out west) has an “Asian” line — four types: Mango, Green Tea, Coconut, and Ginger. The Ginger is sweet ginger cream with diced candied ginger in it…so good. One day I went to buy some and it was all gone, the shelf was full of other stuff, and the little shelf tag saying “Ginger” was also gone. “I have a bad feeling about this,” I said to my daughter. Went home and phoned Island Farms. “Did you discontinue your Ginger ice cream?”
    “Oh, yes. We did.”
    I cried, “But it was my favourite! It was the only kind I buy!”
    “Oh, so YOU’RE the one!!”

    Very sad.

    Maybe I just need to buy an ice cream maker?!

Thoughts?

