Purple feet

16 Aug

A big big thank you goes to my cousin, who pointed me toward this blog to find ideas for activities with Coco. From there I found several other sites with good ideas and information, and we’ve had a much more varied week!

One suggestion was to work on motor skills by moving or pouring things between bowls. Coco did this for, oh, almost an entire afternoon. We’ve repeated the activity several times as well.

Beans!

Another suggestion was to play in the sink, which I already knew she enjoys. Only a bit more structured, with clean water and toys this time. It kept her occupied for another entire afternoon and a different morning.

Coco loves water play

We tried some arts and crafts. Which means I painted or drew while she either told me what to do (“Draw mama dinosaur, draw baby dinosaur”), or ran away yelling “no paint, Mama! No paint!”

Tuesday morning we headed to a local branch of the library for story time. I’ve been meaning to do this for the last few weeks, but GP has needed the car on story time days.

Wait. No we didn’t. In a strange move I had the foresight to check the library’s online calendar and saw that all activities for this week were cancelled. Boo! Instead we ran some errands.

We took a giant bag of spare change (mostly pennies) and exchanged it for paper money. Then I bought myself a little treat! I got a new nail polish (it was between this and orange, but Coco talked me into this one)

It’s called “Now you sea me”

and this fancy new Gold Bond Healing foot cream.

Please fix my dried mummy skin feet! Pretty please!

If this stuff works and can make my feet that look like they belong on a 9000 year old mummy soft and supple and not scratch GP’s legs while we’re sleeping at night, I’ll make a whole page about products I love and put this right at the top. I’m serious. My feet are completely gnarly, and not in the good way that word was used in the 90s.

Then, because Coco has been obsessed with the color of my toenails lately, we painted hers. Have I mentioned that purple is her favorite color?

Purple feet!

She walked around all afternoon saying “purple feet!” Please excuse the owie on her foot.  She trips a lot. On the air.

And, just because, here’s a Biscuit picture. He’s 5 weeks old today!

5 weeks old!

3 Responses to “Purple feet”

  1. G August 16, 2012 at 9:53 am #

    I’m so glad she’s able to be distracted for longer periods of time now. I don’t know how you’d manage if she still needed you to hold her 24/7. You’d probably figure out how though; you’re narly (different spelling = different definition I believe)!

  2. Katrina Goldman August 16, 2012 at 9:59 am #

    I was wondering what you were talking about with pouring beans from one bowl to another for hours. This makes much more sense now!

  3. Yum Yucky August 17, 2012 at 9:37 am #

    Coco’s feet are just so dang cute. Please give the Biscuit a hi-5 for me, in honor of his 5 weeks of baby-ness. (my feet also have that mummified appearance, by the way)

Thoughts?

