Settled in and (almost) roach free

8 Jul

We are all settled in to the new place! Well, considering the baby’s room has pretty much no furniture, maybe I should revise that. We’re 98% settled in to the new place!

20120708-202959.jpg

It’s great. The kitchen is by far the biggest kitchen I’ve ever had. I actually think our master bathroom is bigger than the last kitchen I used. Which is both awesome, and really sad.

20120708-201751.jpg

The dining table is in it’s own room, not crammed into a portion of the living room! Which means Coco is less apt to run into it or play underneath it.

20120708-202013.jpg

There is an actual fireplace! I don’t really know how often we will use it, but it’s there and it’s gas.

20120708-202130.jpg

I think this is the steepest staircase in a house ever. Seriously. I live in constant fear (that may be an exaggeration) of falling down the stairs while carrying Coco and my hugely pregnant self.

20120708-202241.jpg

Speaking of hugely pregnant, this baby is due in one week! I tell ya, I hope Biscuit here decides to come closer to his due date, unlike his sister who, at almost 2 years old, still insists on doing things in her own time. Like eating.

While we’re talking about eating, I am pleased-ish to say that the roach problem has almost disappeared. When we first arrived the refrigerator was unplugged. GP pulled it forward to plug it in, and about 10 roaches ran out from behind it! Thankfully, we had brought all our roach spray from Louisiana, where roaches are considered a normal part of life and people look at you strangely if you mention that you don’t have roaches. I bet we killed about 30 roaches that first night, between pulling out the fridge and the oven (which turned out to have nasty grease all down the sides of it). The real estate agent sent an exterminator out within a day or two, and he set lots of traps and bait to take care of them. Now we see about 1 or 2 a day and sometimes manage to go a whole day without seeing any! They no longer run out from behind the stove while I’m cooking, so that’s a definite plus. Since we’re looking on the bright side of roach infestations here, I also have to say that I’m so glad these aren’t Louisiana-sized roaches. Those guys could grow to 3 or more inches long! So far all the ones we have seen here have only been about half an inch at the largest. Most are less than a centimeter.

I’ll try to get some pictures of the upstairs and a better one of the living room up in my next post. Of course, I’m hoping a baby arrives soon, so that could be another few weeks….

2 Responses to “Settled in and (almost) roach free”

  1. Shannon B July 10, 2012 at 11:10 am #

    Beautiful house! I envy you your kitchen.

    BUT I have never seen a roach and am appalled at your matter-of-factness! (We don’t have them here on the west coast of Canada.)

    Good luck with the birth…my favourite part, the only thing that made the horrors of pregnancy worthwhile to me.

  2. the Bag Lady July 12, 2012 at 8:21 pm #

    The house looks fabulous!
    Am looking forward to seeing more pictures, and hoping the new baby will be in some of them!

Thoughts?

