Lamenting

23 Apr

I haven’t knit on my sweater, or done anything crafty, in over a month. I feel kinda bad about that, like I’m letting down some part of me that really wants to be doing these things.

Shortly into the second trimester here with Biscuit my carpal tunnel really started acting up. It got so bad that not only my wrists were hurting but the pain was shooting all the way up into my shoulders. Doing normal tasks at work was challenging, and being able to sleep soundly was only a dream. I decided to take a little break from knitting and see if my nerves quieted down.

After about 2 weeks sans knitting I was feeling good. No more severe nerve pain, I was sleeping better, everything was good. So I knit while watching TV for a couple of days. Not much, probably 15 to 20 minutes each night. Aaaaaand the nerve pain returned. Since then I have left my sweater in it’s project bag to languish until a later date. I guess it isn’t too bad, since the temps have been in the mid 80’s for the past few weeks and are only going to get hotter before we leave. I don’t really need a wool sweater right now, so I can justify not working on it for a bit longer.

I learned, to my surprise, that it is common for women to develop carpal tunnel while pregnant. It seems to be no surprise then that mine decided to start flaring up and getting worse.

So instead of knitting I’ve been doing some more reading and trying to do more cooking. Both have been tough as I’ve been ridiculously tired and falling asleep on the couch at about 9:00 each night. But hey, this state of pregnancy won’t last forever (thankfully) and in a few months 5:30 am will no longer be my regular wake up time! So maybe I’ll be able to stay up a bit later and do some of those things I really love.

Until Biscuit is born, that is. Then sleep itself will be the thing I really want to do!

3 Responses to “Lamenting”

  1. the Bag Lady April 23, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

    Sorry to hear about your carpal tunnel pain…. I can relate to pain that stops you from doing something you love! (In my case, it’s damaged nerves in my spine that stop me from doing all kinds of things comfortably – like, umm, walking, climbing stairs, sitting down, lying down….just a few things like that.) At least yours will probably settle down in a few months! 🙂

  2. Alison April 24, 2012 at 11:47 am #

    Carpal tunnel is very common in pregnant women! Hopefully it doesn’t interfere with your sleeping, which is a common symptom as well. I don’t know a lot about knitting, but I can imagine why the act of it is causing it to act up. I’m a little worried that it’s shooting up into your shoulders…that’s not typical. If it keeps up (when you’re not knitting), you might need an OT 🙂

  3. Katie (@katiesci) April 26, 2012 at 8:05 am #

    Wow, that sucks! I didn’t know carpal tunnel was common when preggers. I hope it clears up in time for a little baby knitting when Biscuit is still tiny.

Thoughts?

