Happy 30th Birthday, GP!

10 Apr

I hope you all had a happy Easter or happy Passover! We certainly enjoyed the long weekend.

Sunday was also GP’s birthday. He’s the big 3-0 this year, and I can’t really tell if he’s excited about it or not. I was really excited to turn 30 back in November (yes, I’m just a wee bit older!), but the excitement didn’t really last.

What with it being spring and Easter along with his birthday, GP requested strawberry shortcake this year. Of course, I obliged because I love him and because I love strawberry shortcake!

Now, I could have gone the lazy route and bought those little shortcake cups and some Cool Whip, but come on now, he’s only going to turn 30 once. Instead, he got a nice fresh pound cake and homemade, real whipped cream!

I know I’ve posted my own grandmother’s pound cake recipe here, but I want to share another one with you. If you read the previous pound cake post, I talked about the cake my college roommate’s (Kendra’s) grandmother would make her. When I saw Kendra at our baby shower for Coco, she gave me a recipe card with her Nanny’s recipe! And while I do still love my own grandmother’s recipe, Nanny’s is by far the best I’ve ever had. As a bonus, it’s super easy.

Nanny’s Pound Cake

  • 1 box Duncan Hines Butter Recipe Golden Cake mix
  • 1 C dairy sour cream
  • 1/2 C Crisco oil (some other oils can cause cake to fall)
  • 1/4 C sugar
  • 1/4 C water
  • 4 eggs

Procedure:

1. Preheat oven to 375F

2. In a large bowl, blend cake mix, sour cream, oil, sugar, water, and eggs. Beat at high speed for 2 minutes.

3. Pour into greased bundt pan. Use Crisco or oil to grease, Pam or other spays won’t prevent sticking!

4. Bake at 375F for 35-45 minutes, until cake springs back when toughed lightly. Cool right side up for about 25 minutes, then remove from pan.

2 Responses to “Happy 30th Birthday, GP!”

  1. katiedid April 12, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

    Yum! Happy birthday, GP!

  2. G April 13, 2012 at 7:28 am #

    Thanks katiedid! You’re mistaken on one point, Gena, I plan on turning 30 every 10 years or so.

Thoughts?

