How I spent my day off

22 Feb

I had a nice and relaxing day off. I managed to sleep in a little, mainly because Coco had a rough night and needed to sleep in herself. Then I shipped her off to daycare and got to work.

I finished the fronts of my sweater and started the left sleeve. I gave myself a nice manicure, and I sewed a few hexagons for a quilt top. I also made some pie.

It’s a Paula Deen recipe, so you know it’s anything but healthy – Frozen Chocolate Mousse Pie. But it is certainly delicious!  You whip up all this chocolate mousse, which takes forever because it’s a quart of heavy cream and 3 cups of powdered sugar folded into the chocolate.

Then you’re supposed to fit all that mousse into a single 9 inch pie crust. Really?

Really really? This bowl is about 3/4 full with mousse, and it’s supposed to fit in that little pie crust? How, exactly, does that work? I mean I know you can fit a lot of fluffy stuff in a pie crust, and this is supposed to be piled high, but I think a pie that comes 4 inches above the edge of the crust is a bit extreme.

I made two pies. One is half eaten, the other is in the freezer, just waiting its turn next to the ice cream sandwiches.

2 Responses to “How I spent my day off”

  1. GP February 23, 2012 at 11:03 am #

    I can attest to the deliciousness of this pie, and am very grateful for the existence of the second!

  2. Shannon B March 4, 2012 at 1:34 am #

    Oh my gosh, that pie looks amazing. Nice manicure!

Thoughts?

