Day off

19 Feb

One of the perks about living and working near New Orleans is that we always get a nice long weekend when Mardi Gras is going on! I have Monday and Tuesday off work, giving me a much needed 4-day weekend. What am I going to do with myself?!?

GP and I did our usual weekend tasks of cleaning, laundry, and playing with Coco. So that’s nice. Daycare is closed on Tuesday, so I’ll be spending quality mama-baby time with her! But Monday, ooooh Monday!

Monday I am taking a day off. I’m sending Coco to daycare, GP to work, and having a quiet day at home to do anything I please! I think I’ll sew a little. I think I’ll give myself a mani/pedi. I think I’ll bake something, take a nap, and then maybe take another nap.

On one hand I feel mean and selfish. I often feel that I don’t get enough time with Coco due to my commute and work hours – so I think I should spend every free moment I have with her. One the other hand, work and worries about the future (that’s a topic for another post) have been very stressful lately, and I think a “mental health day” would give me an opportunity to recharge and get a fresh attitude. On the third hand, I am being selfish and really crave some time alone – time that isn’t spent sitting in a car in traffic somewhere!

So, all hands taken together, I am taking tomorrow off. I am doing whatever I want, and I am doing my best not to feel guilty or selfish about it. I hope to have some good results with the sewing and baking to share with y’all later!

 

 

2 Responses to “Day off”

  1. challoner February 21, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    Oh, I’d love to have a day off at home! My kids are always here though…it’s a problem. (Not really. Just an occasional annoyance.)

    • Gena February 22, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

      I admire you for your dedication! I don’t know that I could be a SAHM and do homeschooling.

Thoughts?

