Two rows too many

23 Jan

I’m knitting this sweater.

Eadon by Susanna IC

I knit the entire back, which was honestly a bit of a chore because it’s all in 3X2 ribbing, and it’s a looooooong sweater. So all that ribbing took forever!

Finally, I finished the back and started on one of the front pieces. This is moving along much more enjoyably as fronts are only half the width of backs and it has the bonus of this nifty little cabled part to keep it interesting.

So, as I’m knitting along on the front, I’m starting to think that my lengths aren’t going to match up. I’m actually thinking that maybe I miscounted my rows on the back, and that I actually knit MORE BORING RIBBING THAN I HAD TO! Sure enough, when I lay the pieces out side by side it looks like the back is just a few rows longer than the front!

See those little edges? Those are SUPPOSED to match up!

Naturally, I count the rows. I’m supposed to have 126 rows before shaping the armholes (those edges that DON’T MATCH UP). I count in increments of 20 and put a safety pin at every 20th row.

I keep counting.

And counting and counting and counting.

I count 128. Two stinking rows too many!

I can just fudge it all in the seaming and no one will know but me. But honestly, I think knowing that I have 2 extra rows will drive me crazy! So after I finish this front piece I’m going to rip back to that 126th row and redo the armholes and neckline shaping. Fortunately, it’s not that many rows and a mistake I can easily fix in just a couple of days. Still, mistakes like this get a big ol’ BOO.

4 Responses to “Two rows too many”

  1. Kristen January 23, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

    Good heavens. That is dedication!

    I highly approve of your color choice, ma’am!

  2. Kate January 24, 2012 at 3:53 am #

    If it’ll drive you crazy, then ripping is the only answer. TBH, I think I’d have given up in the face of all that ribbing on the back!

    • Gena January 24, 2012 at 6:18 am #

      There were a few times when I was ready to give up with all that ribbing! But I decided the finished product will be worth it!

  3. the Bag Lady January 24, 2012 at 8:04 am #

    I totally hear you – it would drive me crazy, too! Mind you, I’d have been crazy long ago with all that ribbing! But it is a gorgeous sweater….

Thoughts?

