Lemon Curd Sandwich Cookies

10 Jan

I offered cookies to anyone who is still reading (glad some of y’all are still here! Hello!) and I’m making good.

At the farmer’s market on Saturday I picked up a couple of beautiful Meyer lemons. Naturally, I had no idea what I wanted to do with them, but they were so lovely I couldn’t pass them by. Later that day I had the urge to bake – and them immediately eat – cookies. I was contemplating making some boring sugar cookies when I remembered the lemons. So I combined a couple of recipes to make these lemon sandwich cookies. Naturally, I messed up the cookies and had to improvise, but it turned out alright in the end.

To make the lemon curd:
1/2 cup lemon juice
3 inch long piece of lemon zest
7 tbs sugar (adjust to taste)
1/2 tsp pectin or gelatin
1 egg and 1 egg white

Pour about 2 tbs lemon juice over the gelatin/pectin and stir. Set aside and combine the rest of the ingredients in the top of a double boiler. Cook over medium-low until the curd thickens, stirring constantly. It takes about 5 to 7 minutes and goes from complete liquid to thick in about 2 seconds. Add the gelatin mix and cook 1 more minute. Remove from heat, let cool, take out the zest and refrigerate until needed.

To make the cookies:
1/3 cup butter (I never said we were being healthy here)
1/3 cup shortening (see above)
3/4 cup sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups flour

So, you’re supposed to add these in a specific order and blah blah blah, but I just threw it all together in a large bowl and went at it with a mixer until it made a crumbly dough like pie crust. Roll it into a log, wrap in plastic, and chill until you’re ready for it. After at least 3 hours, slice cookies about 1/8 inch thick. Bake at 375 for 7 or 8 minutes, until the edges are set but they haven’t turned brown.

I put about half a spoonful between two cookies and lightly smooshed them together. It used all but a tiny bit of the curd and made 20 cookies total. A little dusting with powdered sugar was the final touch.

As they sat, the curd (which doesn’t really hit jam consistency) kind of soaks into the cookies, making them a bit softer and, GP and I think, even better than when freshly assembled.

Let me know if you try them out! They taste wonderful, but take a lot to prepare. I made the curd and dough on Saturday, then baked and assembled on Sunday. Delicious though they are, I don’t think this is a recipe I will be jumping to make very often.

4 Responses to “Lemon Curd Sandwich Cookies”

  1. Shannon B January 11, 2012 at 12:22 am #

    I’m still here! (And I love LOVE lemon curd.)

  2. Katie January 11, 2012 at 7:42 am #

    Please tell me you ate that last little bit of lemon curd! It’s making my mouth water just looking at it.

  3. Mary Anne in Kentucky January 11, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

    They do sound delicious, but when there are lots of delicious things that don’t take nearly as long to make, I’m afraid I may never try them. Drooling anyway.

  4. ashpags January 15, 2012 at 12:46 am #

    These look so yummy!

Thoughts?

