People can be amazing

21 Apr

My good friend Laci is a fantastically talented makeup artist in Los Angeles. Sounds weird since I’m a scientist and can barely apply eyeliner, huh? But Laci and I have been friends since kindergarten and we’ve stayed good friends despite only seeing each other every few years.

Two days ago, someone broke into her car and stole her makeup kit. Everything she needed to do her job was taken from her. For me, this would be like the laboratory burning down: no incubators, no virus stocks, no reagents. For her it means no products, no makeup, no brushes, no anything else she needs. Nothing.

Not only that, but insurance won’t cover the loss, so rebuilding her kit means replacing everything herself, out of her own pocket.

But this is where the really fantastic part comes in, and where people can be really amazing.

A friend started a donation page so that people can contribute whatever little bit they can to help Laci rebuild her kit. Immediately after posting it, donations started to pour in. In 48 hours, people have donated almost $3000 dollars (yes, I typed that right)! The average donation is about $75 per person. And some of these donations are from people she doesn’t even know!

Other makeup artists have donated supplies. Friends are letting her borrow their kits so she can keep working in the meantime. It’s really amazing how people can band together to help out someone when she needs it most. And if anyone is deserving of love and help, it’s Laci. She is one of the most generous and giving people I know!

I don’t know how much a professional makeup kit costs to assemble, but I get the feeling its a whole lotta money. More than 3 grand. I’m not asking you to donate, but if you want to, go ahead. If you want to link to this blog or the donation page, please do so.

What I do want to point out is that people can be really amazing. We’re in a recession and everyone is feeling the money pinch. The news is constantly crowded with stories about horrible things people are doing to each other.

But here’s a real, true story of how people can be so wonderful and loving, so generous and caring when someone is in need. I think we need to hear this type of story from time to time and be reminded that the world is full of good people. I hope hearing about the love Laci has received lifts your spirits and makes you smile. Maybe you’ll be inspired to help someone out today at work, or at the coffee shop, or wherever you find yourself. Not to sound too cliche, but if we all did just a little bit to help out each day, the world really would be a nicer place.

2 Responses to “People can be amazing”

  1. Turt April 21, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    I’ve read everything from when you were still prego, up til now all in the past few hours. I really enjoy your blog. Maybe I should do one, too. Except we all know that I start things and then they get put on the backburner. I miss you, and need to plan a trip so I can hold that little girl! By the way, I would like that jambalaya recipe, if you don’t mind. 🙂

  2. Miz April 25, 2011 at 5:57 am #

    I love this.
    and youre so so right.

    they really truly can.

Thoughts?

