In which I find an excuse to knit

7 Apr

I’ve had the itch to do some knitting for awhile now. I’d love to pick up a complicated lace pattern and go to town, but man, I don’t have the brain power for that right now. I mean, I can’t remember what I did this morning, don’t know what I’m doing tomorrow, heck, I don’t even know what day of the week it is tomorrow! How am I supposed to do some crazy pattern when my brain isn’t working properly?

Still, I did manage to find an excuse to do some nice and easy knitting. You know, the kind where you don’t do anything particularly complex but you do have to pay the tinniest bit of attention? So what’s this excuse?

Babies.

Not my baby. In fact, I haven’t knit anything for Coco, a fact I hope to remedy when summer (which has pretty much already started here) is over. But no, this is for a friend’s baby who will be arriving sometime in August.

I started out wanting to knit some toys, but decided a blanket would be better. Ashley showed me this great pattern on Ravelry the other night and I cast on immediately.

It’s just the kind of pattern I needed. Simple enough (dudes, it’s garter stitch. It doesn’t get easier than that) but with the need to look down occasionally and count. Fortunately the counting doesn’t go higher than 20. I couldn’t handle numbers any bigger.

So, I’m dusting off my needles and refreshing my skills. I’ve got another project lined up in the near future, and plans for more that may or may not ever come to fruition. I’m really good at planning, but not always the best at follow through.

2 Responses to “In which I find an excuse to knit”

  1. Katie April 7, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    Cute pattern! I finally got going on Coraline this week (after three restarts to get gauge). We’re knitters again!

  2. ashpags April 8, 2011 at 1:00 am #

    Yay! It’s looking great!

Thoughts?

