Little green lifeforms

27 Mar

Now, before you get all crazy and think I’ve seen an extraterrestrial, let me assure that these lifeforms are completely of the earth. So much of the earth that they grow in it. Intriguing, I know.

When GP and I moved into our new place 8 months ago, I was excited to see that the little balcony had these nice planters all along it as well as two hanging baskets. I brought 4 big planting pots with me, only one of which had anything growing in it, which I’m pretty sure I killed by neglecting during what passes for winter down here. Anyway, if it wasn’t dead before, it is now. Because I pulled up its roots and threw them away.

The "balcony"

And I actually managed to follow through with this idea! I bought some seeds and a trowel, tilled up the soil and planted some chives, cilantro, and parsley in three of the balcony planters. The fourth one is going to have basil when the planting season is right. The two hanging baskets are for some decorative sweet peas (which is one of the nicknames we have for Coco).

Sprouting sweet peas

In one of the large pots I planted some lavender. I love lavender and have wanted a plant for a long time. I’m not too sure how it will do in the humidity of Louisiana – from what I gather, they’re really more of a dry weather plant. No one would ever call southern Louisiana dry.

In another planter I put in some sweetie tomatoes, the baby cherry kind. They’re sprouting up really nicely; I’ll have to thin them out in a few more weeks, and build a little trellis for them to climb.

Baby tomatoes

One more planter will be green beans, to be planted in a few more weeks. The other planter I still don’t know about. Ideally I’d like to have a little spinach patch, but I don’t think there is enough room in one of these pots (probably 12 – 18 inches in diameter). Do any of you have some know-how about container gardens?

Much to my shock, everything is sprouting! Oh sure, there’s really only one little shoot of parsley that’s up so far, and maybe two of lavender, but there is some form of green life in everything I’ve planted. Now we’ll just wait and see if it keeps growing, or if I somehow manage to kill it. This could go either way.

4 Responses to “Little green lifeforms”

  1. Miz March 28, 2011 at 6:26 am #

    ahh I have a black thumb so I shall quickly click away before I bring you down too šŸ™‚

  2. Mary Anne in Kentucky March 28, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    You can’t call central Kentucky dry, either, although it’s not hot-wet for as long as Louisiana, and my lavender has done fine for years, crowded by the other plants in a way that ought to lead to mildew, but doesn’t.

    Yum. Good luck with it all.

    Mary Anne in Kentucky

  3. the Bag Lady March 29, 2011 at 12:08 am #

    Looks like you’re off to a good start! I can’t give you any advice about growing lavender – I’ve never managed to get it to live. I plant tomatoes and peppers in pots on my deck and they do very well. You could try a couple plants of spinach in a pot – it should do okay. Make sure the soil is a little on the sandy side.

  4. Katie March 31, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    Yay! I can’t wait for spring here to plant my garden. That won’t be until, um, mid to end of May. sigh

    I’ve never grown spinach but lettuce is easy to grow and tastes great… well, unless it gets too hot. I suppose it might be too hot on your balcony for lettuce unless you have a shady spot. I like the Tom Thumb mini butter lettuce type.

Thoughts?

