Random weekend happenings

20 Mar

1. GP’s brother and his wife came to visit us this week/weekend. They left to drive home this morning, so yesterday we went down to New Orleans for some touristy stuff.

St Peter St

We walked around the French Quarter and the French Market. The French Quarter is a huge draw for New Orleans night life, but it’s full of restaurants and shops and daytime things, too.

Jackson Square

Went to Jackson Square and saw all the street vendors, palm readers, artists, and the cathedral. The flowers in the park where in bloom and it was really pretty.

French Quarter - yes I got my finger in the way

We had po’boys and muffalettas at Serio’s Deli for lunch and finished off with beignets at Cafe Du Monde. I work in New Orleans, but hardly ever see the city, so this was a nice treat for me as well as for the “actual” tourists.

2. Coco finally managed to cut her first tooth. Not that you can see it here, since it just broke the skin on Friday. But she’s super cute in this hat Melinda made for her!

Coco the tourist

3. We went out last night to see the “supermoon”. I think we waited too long after it rose, because it wasn’t really huge by the time we looked. Also, it’s really hard to take a picture of the moon.

Supermoon

4. I’ve decided to try planting some things in my little balcony planters. More on that later.

And that’s about it! Today will be spent doing normal Sunday things, like grocery shopping and cooking, with a lot of college basketball watching thrown in!

Enjoy the rest of the weekend, everyone!

 

3 Responses to “Random weekend happenings”

  1. Katie March 20, 2011 at 11:52 am #

    Coco is getting so big! Still adorable.

    This post makes me miss New Orleans. I have only been there once for about a week for a conference but it was so fun and beautiful; I’d love to go back.

  2. Mary Anne in Kentucky March 21, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    My parents lived in NO for seven years. I’ve spent three days there. Must.Get.Back!

    (I want Coco’s hat. I’m sitting on my balcony as I type, holding my straw hat on with one hand. March is windy.)

  3. Dr. O March 25, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    Now I’ve got a craving for beignets. I really need to find some chicory coffee and CdM beignet mix up here in Yankee Land. 😉

Thoughts?

