Not-so-new wardrobe

20 Feb

Ever since the weather warmed up a week ago (it was almost 80F today) I’ve developed a serious desire to sew some skirts. Cute little A-line skirts with lots of movement and invisible zippers and pockets.

Of course, I’ve never sewn a skirt. Or put pockets in anything. And the one time I put in a regular zipper it took about 5 tries and maybe a few tears and curse words. But I can dream, and oh how I dreamed big – acetate lining, floral patterns, geometric patterns, lines, polka dots, ruffles on the hems!

Then this afternoon, as I was putting away the laundry, I noticed something hanging in the back of the closet. I dug through the debris, pushed away a few cobwebs and emerged with….hangers full of skirts! Seven skirts, to be exact. Seven A-line skirts I had completely forgotten about and not worn for the past 2 years!

Why were these wardrobe staples neglected, you ask? Well, last summer I was so hugely pregnant there was no way one of those skirts was going on. The summer before that I had just finished writing this behemoth and was still carrying around the “dissertation weight”. It’s like the freshman 15, but instead of gaining weight because you’re having a good time staying up late while eating pizza and wings with your new friends you gain because you’re too busy trying to graduate to care about your own health for a few months. Anyway, the skirts didn’t fit that summer, either.

But they fit now! I tried on every one of those suckers and all my shorts and made GP tell me if they still looked ok. I wound up getting rid of 2 skirts and 2 pair of shorts, but I’ve still got plenty. It’s kind of like finding myself with a whole new wardrobe.

Naturally, I still want to sew some, just to see if I have the skills. But these “newfound” articles leave me noticing another gap in my style wardrobe.

I’m in desperate need of new shoes.

2 Responses to “Not-so-new wardrobe”

  1. Leta February 23, 2011 at 9:59 am #

    I so need to clean out my closet, but I don’t think I will try on any clothes to see if they will fit. I am glad you found “new” skirts for this spring.

  2. the Bag Lady February 24, 2011 at 9:00 am #

    Way cool! And if you need advice on sewing, just drop me a line and I’ll see what I can do to help!

    (I’m afraid that if I discovered new/old clothes in my closet and they fit, it would send me into deep depression because it would mean I’d gained weight!)

Thoughts?

