When I am an old woman

13 Feb

I shall wear purple with a red hat.

(Taken from Warning by Jenny Joseph)

So basically, I’m already an old woman. I have been spotted recently wearing my purple coat with my new red hat. And I don’t care! It’s been cold! Fortunately today was warm enough and sunny enough to convince GP to take a few pictures. See all the pretty sunlight? So nice!

Pattern: Star Crossed Slouchy Beret by Natalie Larson

Yarn: Malabrigo worsted

Needles: size 8 dpns

Started and ended: January 14, 2011

Modifications: Someone on Ravelry suggested adding a second cable repeat after the increase rounds, and I followed her advice. That seemed to really do the trick – the hat has just the right amount of slouch.

Notes: Super easy pattern, cables are simple and would be great for a beginner. Actually, I’d suggest the whole pattern for a beginner just starting to knit in the round. It was fun and quick and makes a great finished product.

I really love the occasional quick little project like this. You get the entertainment of making something new along with the almost instant gratification of having a completed item. And after finishing one pair of socks that took about a year followed by another pair (yet to be blogged) that took a year and a half, well, a quickly finished project was a bit of a morale boost.

2 Responses to “When I am an old woman”

  1. Miz February 14, 2011 at 6:29 am #

    adore (the hat)
    covet (the hat)
    COVET (your talent)

  2. the Bag Lady February 15, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

    You’re so cute! (and you look so young!!!!!!!)
    Love the hat.
    Are you trying to tell us that you’re an old soul?
    šŸ™‚

Thoughts?

