Aunt J’s socks – the saga finale

6 Feb

These puppies are finished, delivered, and have been worn! I spent all the daylight hours of our drive to TX over Christmas knitting the second sock, then worked until my fingers hurt the next day, and finished them just in time to be delivered. I mean literally. I wove in the ends as we walked up the drive to the party!

Since it was all so last minute I never got to take any finished pictures. This was easily remedied by email Aunt J and asking her to take some. Now, I figured that since Snowpocalypse was still going on, and since the area of TX where she lives was pretty much shut down, she might have a few minutes to take a picture or two. Let me tell you, I might have her take all my sock pictures for me from now on!

The Normal shot

Pattern: Mock Wave Cable Socks, by Ann Budd
Yarn: Lorna’s Laces Shepherd sock multi in the Blackwatch colorway
Needles: Knitpicks circulars, size 0 (the 42 inch cable, so I can knit them magic loop style)
Start and end dates: let’s not talk about that.

The Snow shot

As we all know, there were some ups and downs with this project.  Since the goal in knitting and in life is usually to try something new and come away having learned something, I can definitely say the goal was accomplished. So, what did I learn, exactly?

The Snow shot #2

#1. Maybe knitting socks for someone who doesn’t live with you or have the exact same foot size isn’t the best idea. #2. When in doubt, add more stretch – you can’t really have too much, but you can definitely have too little! All in all, though, the second time through the project was very enjoyable. I really like the mock waves pattern and loved working with Lorna’s laces (I might be the only sock knitter who never had before)!

The Texas shot - my personal favorite

Now I’ve got a pair of my own socks to finish up, and then I’d love to tackle another lace project – it’s been far too long! Of course I need some laceweight yarn for that (hint hint to anyone who might be buying Valentine’s or anniversary presents soon!).

6 Responses to “Aunt J’s socks – the saga finale”

  1. Katie February 6, 2011 at 11:10 am #

    Yay! They look great! I think I still have a hank of laceweight yarn left over from a project that I’m not going to use. Check it out on my Ravelry trade/sell page if you like.

  2. G February 6, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    Are you talking to me?

  3. G February 6, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

    You know, wool is year 7…year 6? Iron.

  4. Mary Anne in Kentucky February 7, 2011 at 8:46 am #

    Ok. Learn to knit socks. On my project list now.

  5. Aunt J February 7, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    I love the socks! They’re beautiful, and they kept my feet warm in the snow (well, until I took them off to take pictures). The Texas picture was my favorite, too….the donkey said he liked the socks!

  6. the Bag Lady February 15, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    Those socks are gorgeous!! And I love the Texas shot, too – adorable donkey!

Thoughts?

