The saga of the sock continued

28 Nov

Okay, I promised last time that I would deliver photographic evidence of the progress that has been made on the new/redo/improved sock. Here it is.

Sock puppets

Modeled here by GP’s hands, the sock in the left is the first version, the one that didn’t stretch and would eventually have led to Aunt J losing all blood flow to her foot and having to cut the sock off with scissors. It barely fit over GP’s hand. Ha.

The sock on the right is the new version, Ann Budd’s Mock Wave Cable Socks from Favorite Socks. It’s hard to tell without actually reading the pattern or being a knitter yourself, but there is a row of 2X2 ribbing between each of the wavy cable-type pieces. Those bits of ribbing make this sock soooooo much more stretchy that it fits over GP’s hand and over my own foot.

New and improved

Old, small sock

Bubye, old sock

I have started the second sock, and should be done in time to deliver it to Aunt J over Christmas. This project seems to have taken forever, and I’ll be proud to have worked out all the kinks and delivered a quality project.

3 Responses to “The saga of the sock continued”

  1. the Bag Lady December 2, 2010 at 3:08 pm #

    Very pretty yarn! I’m glad you got the kinks worked out and that your aunt will have her pretty socks AND the circulation in her feet! 🙂

  2. Aunt J December 4, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

    Wow! Of course I love the yarn, and the new weave looks wonderful! Stretchy sounds good. Circulation sounds good.
    I appreciate the photographic evidence, although I won’t believe it until I have them on my feet!
    Sorry you’ve had to spend so much time on them…..but I’m sure I’ll love them.

  3. Sagan December 7, 2010 at 9:05 pm #

    Tehe! You’re too funny. Congratulations on a successful sock!

Thoughts?

