6 lizards and a frog

4 Oct

Two Saturdays ago (it’s been a long time since I blogged!), I stepped outside to get my watering can. I brought it in and filled it up in the sink. As I was walking over to the first set of plants to be watered, I noticed something in the spout.

Well, hello there little froggy!

Froggy was perfectly content to sit there while I took several pictures, trying to get him (she? it?) in focus. Then, I headed back outside to start watering in a place I’d be happy to leave little froggy. Like the porch, not the kitchen.

He poured right out, jumped out of the planter, and hopped off to somewhere frogs like to go. I’d say I’ll keep an eye out and see if I can spot him again, but there are so many frogs around here I’d never know if it was him or another frog.

Not only are we inundated with frogs around here, we are also host to a plethora of lizards. At least I think they’re lizards. Strangely translucent, yellowy-orange lizards that like to live on and in the awning of the deck. I’m not a herpetologist, so they could easily be salamanders or some other reptile/amphibious creature. Still, (assuming they are lizards) unlike many lizards I’ve had occasion to meet before, these guys are completely nocturnal. I like to count them when I take the dog out at night. Sometimes they’re sharing their roost with a frog – today’s post title is the lizard and frog count from a few nights ago.

Twice now little tiny lizards have made their way into the house and GP’s had to chase them down and attempt to reintroduce them to the wild. Clark likes to help, but he mostly gets in the way. The cat doesn’t really seem to care at all. Typical cat.

3 Responses to “6 lizards and a frog”

  1. ashpags October 4, 2010 at 9:30 pm #

    I know exactly what kind of lizard you are talking about! I call ’em geckos, but I don’t know what they actually are. The fact that they are translucent kind of freaks me out!

  2. Sagan October 11, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

    Aw cute! Winnipeg’s too cold for them, methinks. Sighs. I loved the little geckos that crawled up the walls in Cambodia when I was living there!

  3. the Bag Lady October 13, 2010 at 8:35 am #

    Looks like I’ve missed out on a few posts lately! Love the picture of all your baking, and the baby is adorable!
    Sorry to hear your coffee pot committed suicide – that happens quite frequently around here (so often, in fact, that I’ve taken to keeping a spare around, just in case!)

    The picture of the tiny frog in the spout is amazing! He’s lucky you noticed him there – I’m not sure I would have seen him!
    We have toads in our yard in the summer, but they tend to be much larger, hence more visible.

Thoughts?

