Back to work

6 Sep

Sadly, today is my last day of maternity leave. I head back to work tomorrow, which is both good and bad. Good, because I am a bit tired of being at home everyday with no real routine and very little adult interaction. Bad, because GP and I both have long commutes. Since mine is longer, we decided to put Coco in daycare near GP. So, I won’t get to spend near as much time with her anymore. We’ll be working very hard to make evenings and weekends really count.

As this was my last weekend before work starts and a holiday, GP, Coco and I took full advantage of the time. We went to the park yesterday morning, then got some new curtains for our bedroom. We played around with Coco and spent lots of quality time cuddling and trying to make her smile more. We watched some tennis and cooked some gumbo. Tonight will be spent preparing for tomorrow and going out for some really good burgers!

Fortunately, this first week back is only a 4 day week! These first days will be spent trying to get some routines going. I don’t like to waste time in the morning getting ready for work (I don’t even fix my hair and wear very little makeup), so I make my lunch and pack my work bag the night before. As mentioned previously, I tend to eat in the car instead of sitting down to breakfast.  I’ve thought about things like setting out my clothes the night before and doing lots of cooking on the weekends so I have more free family time in the evening. I’m trying to figure out what other things I can do at night or on the weekends to make life easier and free up some of those precious morning and evening hours. If you have any suggestions or words of wisdom for streamlining our daily tasks, please leave them in the comments!

Now, after a great weekend with family, I may be ready to tackle the daily grind again. Wish me luck.

5 Responses to “Back to work”

  1. ashpags September 6, 2010 at 7:26 pm #

    These don’t apply directly, but they are two sets of good tips that might help you out:

    http://www.happiness-project.com/happiness_project/2007/08/this-wednesda-4.html
    http://www.happiness-project.com/happiness_project/2010/04/five-tips-for-improving-monday-mornings.html

    I won’t give you any tips directly from me because, quite honestly, I suck at mornings. 😉

  2. Katie September 7, 2010 at 8:48 am #

    Have fun on your first day back to work!

    As for shortcuts on time during the week: I plan all of our meals for the week, make a shopping list, and buy everything on Sunday. I make one recipe for my lunches that week and box them up Sunday night so I can just grab them on my way out the door each morning. Kurt cooks one supper a week so that helps free up some time for studying but I also am starting to use the crockpot once a week too. So far, so good though today I think I filled the crock a bit too full! We’ll see if I come home to a giant mess on the counter.

  3. Shannon B September 8, 2010 at 12:43 am #

    OH MY GOSH seriously?!?! Six weeks’ maternity? What kind of inhuman boss do you have?!

  4. Shannon B September 8, 2010 at 12:44 am #

    I have just remembered you are in a different country! It’s not a boss thing – it’s a country thing….sorry!

    Hope Coco is okay tomorrow…and don’t forget to bring a couple of spare shirts in case you let down sometime during the day!

  5. the Bag Lady September 9, 2010 at 8:51 am #

    Wish I could help with suggestions, but I’m not the best-organized person anymore. Sigh. It sounds as though you are already doing the things I would suggest!

Thoughts?

