Breakfast muffins for the road

1 Sep

I’ll admit, I tend to eat breakfast in the car on the way to work. I have a pretty long commute, so eating on the road cuts out time I have to spend getting ready at home and keeps me from being hungry again at 10 a.m. The thing is, eating in the car can be very messy. I mean, you can’t really eat an omelette or a bowl of oatmeal while driving. Well, I suppose you could, but I wouldn’t really recommend it. So, eating in the car requires something that can be held in one hand. Like muffins.

A long time ago I found this recipe for Morning Glory Muffins. It’s a dense, high calorie type muffin meant to keep you full with lots of fiber until lunch time rolls around. Sounds pretty tasty, too, except for the coconut part. So I altered it a bit to suit my tastes and to suit what ingredients I could find at the grocery store.

The end result was not too dense, pretty moist, and quite tasty! I ate one at 6:30 this morning, and just started getting hungry at 11:00. Not too shabby! If I can manage to hold off eating it until 7:30, I should be good until lunch.

Breakfast muffins for the road
Time: 45 minutes for prep and cooking
Makes: 12 large muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups carrots, peeled and grated (I kinda pureed mine in the Magic Bullet. I don’t recommend this because it is extremely loud! However, if you can find the pre-shredded carrots at your grocery store, I bet those would work great.)
  • 1 large tart apple, peeled, cored, and grated (Again, I sort of pureed mine. I think grated would give a better texture and make the apple more noticeable than pureed.)
  • 1/2 cup sweetened dried cranberries
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/3 cup ground flaxseed
  • 3 large eggs
  • 2/3 cup vegetable oil (could substitute with a banana. I meant to, but at this point I didn’t want to puree anything else!)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup orange juice

Procedure:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375°F.
  2. In a small bowl, cover the raisins and cranberries with warm water. Set aside.
  3. Mix flour, baking soda, sugar, spices, and salt. Add the carrots and apple, walnuts, and flaxseed. Then add the eggs, oil or banana, vanilla, and orange juice. This can be done with a hand mixer, or if yours is broken like mine, just with arm power. It really was’t hard to stir at all.
  4. Okay, now drain the raisins and cranberries and stir them in well.  Scoop the mixture into greased or paper lined muffin tins. The cups will be full!
  5. Bake for 25 to 28 minutes, until nicely domed and a cake tester inserted in the center comes out clean. Remove from the oven, let cool for 5 minutes in their pan on a rack, then turn out of pans to finish cooling.
One Response to “Breakfast muffins for the road”

  1. MizFit September 2, 2010 at 5:32 am #

    ME TOO 🙂
    I do a lot of car eating these days…it is what it is 🙂 and I just try and not eat all that differently than I would at home!

    try 🙂

Thoughts?

