Dropping in

14 Aug

Hello, dear readers!

I’m just dropping in to assure you that we are indeed doing well and adjusting as best we can to life with a newborn. GP and I are both at home (GP until Aug 23, me until after Labor Day) and enjoying every second with little Coco that we can!

This past week was our first full week alone with her! GP’s mom came in to visit for a week, and her time here overlapped a day or two with my family’s visit. While she was here she took good care of us; we didn’t have to worry about cooking, cleaning, or doing the laundry! It was great, and we only wish the rest of GP’s family could have come to visit then too. But hopefully we’ll see them sometime soon – it’s tough to get together when you’re spread across most of the United States.

My Mom, sister-in-law, nephew, and oldest niece came out to visit for about 4 days at the end of last week. Sadly my brother couldn’t come as football two-a-days have already started in Texas, and since he’s a coach, well, you get the picture.  He stayed home with their youngest daughter (just over a year old); we’re hoping to find time for a weekend trip to TX so they can meet Coco too.

Now, I know my mom and SIL were excited to meet Coco and maybe even to see GP and me. But the cutest part was the kids – they were super excited to meet their first cousin! For months all they had been talking about was coming to see their cousin. Every time I talked to one of them on the phone they would ask me “how is your baby growing?”  “When do we get to come meet baby Coco?” The night we went to the hospital my brother took some videos of the kids wishing us good luck and sent them to us. When they arrived, they gave Coco a rabbit they made at the Build-a-Bear factory (pictures later). Then they spent the rest of their time here taking turns holding her, kissing her, and giving her loving pats.

GP and I were sad to see all the family go. We don’t get enough opportunities to get together since we live so far from them all. So when we do get together, we make the time count!

Okay, next time I’ll have a proper post, with pictures and stuff. Let’s see, I’ll show you a frog on the windshield, an albino alligator, some baby pictures, and a bug or two. And you’ll get to see how much I’ve been slacking on my Project 365 picture taking this month. Hey, I’ve been a bit distracted!

4 Responses to “Dropping in”

  1. Katie August 14, 2010 at 11:04 am #

    Glad to hear you’re doing well! Can’t wait to see the baby pics!

  2. the Bag Lady August 15, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

    Looking forward to the baby pictures….. and totally understand why you haven’t been posting!

  3. karen August 15, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    I’ve been thinking of you! Sounds like you are settling in well with Coco. Can’t wait for more pics. Miss you!

  4. JS August 18, 2010 at 6:01 pm #

    Sounds like lots of visitors oohing and aahing over the new little one! I guess for now you have lots of time to cuddle and enjoy Coco….take advantage of it before the school and work grind begins again.

Thoughts?

