Waiting

19 Jul

GP and I are passing the time waiting on the baby’s arrival. Yesterday was our “due date”. I’m trying my best not to let being late bother me – I know due dates are arbitrary. We’re coping with hot chocolate and other nice treats.

Hot chocolate 7/15/2010

In the meantime, we’ve managed to get all moved in to the new place! Kitchen, bedroom, living/dining room are all set up. Baby’s bedroom is mostly set up. Mom is bringing us a dresser and a rocking chair when she comes to visit, and that will finish out the room.

Tracks 6/26/2010

As we’re still waiting for our little one to make her arrival we’ve been keeping busy in the house by putting all the finishing touches on the place. You know, hanging pictures, setting up the television, putting the bookshelf together. Mostly I’m just trying to stay busy and keep occupied. I’m getting a bit anxious about the baby’s arrival – not about the actual labor and delivery, or about having a newborn. All that I’m cool with. I’m just a bit annoyed with people constantly texting, emailing, facebooking me for updates. In an attempt to not bite the heads off well-meaning people, I have logged out of my facebook account and will not check it until we are home with a baby. I am also hiding myself down in the lab and avoiding interacting with people other than my coworkers for the next…well…however long it takes. Feels a bit like this really awful fortune I got the other day:

Fortune? 7/03/2010

Other than that we’re doing fine. I went to the hospital today for a non-stress test on the baby. Basically they hook you up to a fetal heartrate  monitor and a contraction monitor for 20 minutes to make sure the baby is moving and doing well. Then they do a very short ultrasound to measure the amount of amniotic fluid. She’s doing great, so there’s no worry about her staying in there a bit longer. Here’s how I’m looking at work these days:

Can't button 7/16/2010

And here’s the last 3 week’s worth of Project 365 collages. I’ve been bad about getting the pictures off my cameras and posting here. Hope you don’t mind!

Week 7

Week 8

Week 9

Next post I’m having a poll. Ya’ll get to help me pick out a blog nickname for the baby!

4 Responses to “Waiting”

  1. KLee July 19, 2010 at 8:56 pm #

    I was thinking about you earlier today wondering if that sweet girl was on her way. Thanks for the update! And are you telling her name? Obviously not here, but maybe you could send it my way (or make me wait until she is here). Can’t wait to meet her!

  2. Jay July 20, 2010 at 1:45 am #

    Good luck! When it is all over it will seem like time flew by. One moment you’re sitting anxiously, then you blink and suddenly a week has flown by and you’re bringing your bundle of joy home from the hospital!

  3. ashpags July 20, 2010 at 2:24 am #

    Hot chocolate? In this weather? Goodness!

    Hang in there! I was a few weeks late, but turned out okay. Right before I was due there was a pretty big hurricane, so my mom was glad I did not come early. 😉

  4. Kate July 20, 2010 at 4:15 am #

    The post due-date days are the longest imaginable. My boys were both 8 days “late” so I was sick of waiting for something to happen by the time they did arrive! If you get fed up of the constant “is the baby here yet?” questions, just take the phone off the hook or leave the answerphone on.

Thoughts?

