Gratefulness

25 Jun

Wednesday morning I was out walking and saw such a beautiful sunrise. You know how sometimes the beauty of nature – be it a rose garden, the beach, a sunrise or sunset – can really make you reflect on your life? Well, I had one of those moments on Wednesday morning. There I was just thinking about how I love to see a beautiful sunrise and enjoy time outdoors when I started thinking about the good things in my life.

Sunrise 6/25/2010 (not as good as Wednesday’s, but still nice)

GP and I get to live in the same place. When he was applying to grad schools and I was looking for jobs, we weren’t really sure we’d be able to live in the same state, much less the same abode. Oh sure, we both have to commute a decent piece to make it to work and school, but the price is worth it to get to actually live together. We’ve done long distance before and know we could manage it again if needed, but it’s so much better to just be in the same place.

Duck 6/15/2010

We have a happy marriage in which we can act like immature children one moment and carry on conversations about cancer biology and infectious diseases the next (I’ve told you repeatedly that we’re geeks, right?). We’ve both managed to have our science-geeky grad school completely paid for and gotten stipends to help us survive. When he’s done, that will amount to somewhere around 8 years of higher education that we didn’t pay a cent for.

Found object 6/16/2010

Despite the fact that my feet and ankles are starting to swell, I’ve managed to have a fairly uneventful pregnancy. Of course I’ve had my complaints (like the nausea that still comes around on occasion) but I’ve stayed as healthy as I was before and our baby is healthy. Also, as you can see in last post’s picture, I’ve really only managed to gain a giant belly that is still stretch-mark free. Vanity, I know, but I’ll take the positives when I get them!

Breakfast 6/18/2010

Lastly, GP is super good to me. He takes the dog out more frequently than is his turn just because he knows the stairs get harder for me every day. He manages our finances much better than I ever could and is always looking for ways to help us save money for the future. He does plenty of household chores without being asked. And he does all this while still staying on top of his school responsibilities and somehow finding time to watch the World Cup and Wimbledon. I don’t know how he does it, because I can barely manage getting to work in the mornings.

Fence growth 6/24/2010

I have a lot to be grateful for, and I’m trying to keep that in mind as we approach the sleeplessness and stress of the first few months with a newborn.

Week 5


Week 6
4 Responses to “Gratefulness”

  1. Leta June 25, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

    God is good!Love all the pictures.Mom

  2. the Bag Lady June 26, 2010 at 8:52 am #

    Great pictures, Gena!I'm glad to hear things are going so well for you and hope they continue to do so!

  3. Anonymous July 4, 2010 at 11:31 pm #

    I agree with Leta! God gives us so much to be thankful for. I hope you and GP had a great Independence Day! Another thing to be thankful for.Mark

  4. makingnew July 7, 2010 at 12:01 am #

    Lots to be thankful for. Miss you so much! We went to see Eclipse last night for Melinda's last night in town – wish you could have been there!

Thoughts?

