A WIP on a Wednesday

2 Jun
Once upon a time I used to actually attempt to do WIP Wednesdays. I don’t recall ever being very good at doing it regularly, though. But hey, I can try on occasion, right?
So anyway, a long time ago I started knitting these socks for my Aunt J. I decided to be very smart and knit them two at a time using the Magic Loop method. This, I thought, would reduce the knitting time and delay any SSS (second sock syndrome) that I might otherwise encounter. 
Turns out, I hate knitting socks two at a time using Magic Loop. It’s super fiddly, makes each row feel like it’s taking forever, and requires too much brain power to keep from mixing up the yarn strands. 
So, I separated the socks and am finishing them out one at a time. The first one I put on double points, which I haven’t used since I discovered the joys of the Magic Loop. Yes, I still like the Loop better, but this is going well. In fact, I’ve done as much on this one sock in a week as I had on both socks in months. 

I have to admit that I’m not entirely enamored with the pattern. Oh, it’s plenty lovely when it’s knit up, but the knitting of it isn’t so fun for me. I can’t seem to recall what the pattern is just off the top of my head and I’m too lazy to look it up right now. It is pretty though, huh?

The yarn is also working out nicely. No pooling or flashing at all, and it’s very soft on the hands. I’m going to keep plugging away on them and hope to finish in a couple of weeks. You know, just in time for Aunt J to wear them while hiking in the middle of July. ‘Cause everyone needs wool socks for hiking in July.
2 Responses to “A WIP on a Wednesday”

  1. the Bag Lady June 5, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

    Those are gorgeous. I love the colours in the yarn.

  2. Aunt J June 22, 2010 at 5:42 pm #

    Yes, the pattern and the colors are beautiful….I love them! But I'm still waiting! Sorry you're having difficulties with them. Believe me, I'm not in any hurry for the socks. When I take my hot morning walks, I'm glad I'm NOT wearing wool socks!

Thoughts?

