East and back again

25 May

GP and I made it east to NC and back without incident. We had a great time in NC; I’m really glad we went back for graduation, even if the car ride wasn’t the most comfortable one I’ve ever taken. Still, the hooding ceremony was really neat to participate in, and some of our friends threw us a baby shower that Sunday. It was great to see our friends again and have a chance to catch up. We also came away with quite a haul!

While we were there we ingested some of our favorite fares: doughnuts and barbecue.

Once we got back and had a few days to recover (and go back to work, boo!) I got busy on the quilt. By this past Sunday I had the entire thing quilted and yesterday I sewed the binding to the quilt front.

I decided to use the bright pink binding to give a little contrast and interest to the edges of the quilt. I really like it. Today I started hand stitching the binding to the back of the quilt. I managed to get about 1/3 done while watching our Tuesday night TV shows. At this rate, the entire thing should be done by this weekend!

As usual, all was done with the strict supervision of Soup:

He runs a tight ship.

5 Responses to “East and back again”

  1. the Bag Lady May 26, 2010 at 8:08 am #

    The quilt looks lovely – you obviously have a good Soup-ervisor!!Glad you enjoyed your trip and made it home safely.

  2. GP May 26, 2010 at 10:29 am #

    That is a terrible pic of Soup, how did you get him so angry before taking the shot? @ Bag Lady – I can't believe you beat me to the punch with "Soupervisor"…good work!

  3. Karen May 26, 2010 at 8:45 pm #

    It was so good to see you both last weekend! The shower was really nice.I can't wait to see the finished quilt – it is making me want to get one of mine done!

  4. trek May 27, 2010 at 8:18 am #

    I find it very interesting how each area of the south/southeast has its own idea of what makes the perfect barbecue.

  5. Leta June 3, 2010 at 11:26 am #

    Great quilt! I can't wait to see it in person. You look cute, too.Mom

Thoughts?

