Pound Cake

21 Jan

My college roommate used to return to school from visits home laden with an entire pound cake made by her grandmother. That was some fantastic poundcake. There is no doubt in my mind that our usual slice for breakfast was a major contributor to the freshman 15! After we moved into different living arrangements, I didn’t have pound cake nearly as often.

Somehow, around Thanksgiving I got a major hankering for pound cake. I’m going to blame Mom, because she mentioned it while we were discussing the Turkey day menu. I managed to have one slice over Christmas, but it wasn’t enough to fulfill my longing for the sugary vanilla goodness.

Thus, while watching some exciting football games Saturday (Go Saints! Go Colts!) I made pound cake following my grandmother’s recipe. Let me tell you, this is the easiest cake you will ever make, and one of the most delicious pound cakes I have ever had. It is, however, in no way healthy, and should you attempt to make it healthy by substituting any of the 5 ingredients for healthier things, I will hunt you down and make you eat a slice of the real stuff just so you can know what you’re missing with your healthy version. Seriously. I mean it. It’s that good.

Grandma’s Pound Cake (pronounced Gran-maw in your best southern accent)

Ingredients:
1 cup shortening (Crisco – you could use the butter flavored kind, but since this recipe was written before the advent of that particular flavor, I stick with the non-flavored variety)
2 cups sugar
6 eggs!
2 cups flour
1 tsp vanilla

Procedure:
Cream shortening and sugar. Add eggs and vanilla. Mix in flour. I do the flour in 2 batches so that I don’t wind up with an even messier kitchen. But, if you like wiping down cabinets and counters and sweeping the floor, dump it all in and put the mixer on high!

Pour mixture into a well-greased and well-floured bundt pan. Bake at 300 F for 90 minutes. Serve warm with butter, or topped with fresh fruits and whipped cream. Or, be like me in college and today and eat a plain piece for breakfast.

Thoughts?

