Bah Humbug

20 Dec

Confession: I have yet to get into the Christmas spirit. I have a few theories on why this might be, and I’ll share them with you now.

Theory 1: It is still barely cold enough to need a jacket outside.
Theory 2: Not many radio stations are playing wintery/Christmasy music.
Theory 3 (and probably the most likely theory): We have not put up decorations.

What?!?! No decorations! I know, it seems like there must be something wrong with us, but I assure you we have good reasons. See, we moved. Again. We decided that we didn’t need all the extra space in our nice, large apartment, so we moved next door to a smaller apartment. It’s a bit tight, but I don’t mind so much when I think of the $300+ a month we’re saving on rent.

The move started on the 11th, so we thought it would be best not to put up any decorations before then, as we’d just have to take them down and set them back up. Once we got all settled in a few days later, it seemed a little silly to put them all up for just a few days. After all, we leave tomorrow and will be gone until after Christmas is over. GP pulled out two decorations, and that is all that graces our new place this year.

I have the shopping done, however, and will spend this evening wrapping all the presents. I had a very interesting experience while shopping. I experienced this for the first time:

That’s an escalator in a Target. There’s a special escalator for shopping carts. And escalator for shopping carts, people! Have you ever seen anything like it? Okay, maybe you have, but I had not, and I stood there looking for a few minutes before I worked up the courage to stick my cart on there. Turns out, it’s really easy to do and you can just stand by your cart on the people escalator. I did get some weird looks as I took a picture of the cart escalator, but as my Mom used to say whenever I embarrassed myself on vacation, I’ll never see those people again in my life.

In closing, I hope your holidays are going well and that you are more in the holiday spirit than I am. I also hope I can find the spirit somewhere in New Mexico, or else I might suck the life out of Christmas for everyone around me.

Thoughts?

