Thanksgiving Recap

30 Nov

I have been a busy person since my last post! Let me give you a quick update:

On the 19th, I turned 28! Happy birthday to me!
On the 20th, I went to orientation for the new job. Best birthday present I could have hoped for.
On the 23rd I had my first full day of work in the new lab.

On the 24th my Mom, GP’s parents, and GP’s sister came in to celebrate Thanksgiving at our place.
For Thanksgiving, I roasted a turkey, made gravy, chocolate pie, pumpkin pie, and a strawberry/spinach salad. We had other dishes, too, but that’s all I made. I’d never roasted a turkey before, but it came out quite lovely and not at all dry. We’re still munching on the leftovers. Although I promised myself I was going to, I didn’t make my own pie crust. I went with the store bought kind just for the sake of convenience. I will, at some point, provide you with the recipe for chocolate pie, along with pictures of the process. It’s really easy and super yummy; after all, it’s my Grandma’s recipe.

Friday, GP took his family down to New Orleans to spend a bit of time in the city. I wasn’t feeling too well (I think I had overdosed on sugar) so Mom and I stayed at home. They went to the French Quarter, walked along the Mississippi River, and strolled through the French Market. They stayed in New Orleans that night, because their flight left at the crack of dawn on Saturday morning.

Fortunately, I felt better on Saturday and since Mom’s flight didn’t leave until the evening, GP, Mom and I went back down to New Orleans. Mom and Dad had come to NOLA on vacation once before, and Mom had gone through the French Quarter, so we decided to do something different.

New Orleans has a set of old streetcars that run through the city. You can catch a ride on one for the low price of $1.25. We hopped on one on the corner of Canal and Bourbon streets and rode down to the Garden District. The Garden district is full of beautiful old (huge) houses and some of the most historic sites in the city.

 Audobon Park

We got off at the end of the line and strolled around while eating ice cream (hey – it was about 70 outside that day!). We walked past Tulane and Loyola Universities, sat for awhile in the Audobon Park, and strolled through a few fantastic neighborhoods.

Loyola University
Thoughts?

