In which I bribe your return with a delicious recipe

17 Nov
Hello, readers, if any of you are left! I am still alive and have not canceled my blog or anything drastic. I have merely been suffering through a terrible period of severe ennui. You may recall that I was supposed to start work back at the beginning of September? Well, that didn’t happen, and the start date was delayed again and again until I felt helpless and listless and lost the desire to do much of anything. I’m afraid I’ve been a terrible bore. However, this time off has taught me about myself. It would appear that I do not do well staying at home for protracted periods of time. I devolve into a being best characterized by supreme laziness (much much more than the usual levels I employ) and grumpiness.

At least I read a lot of books.

Now, finally, the tides are turning, and I am emerging from the non-working-funk. I start orientation on Friday! Oh, I can’t hardly wait. I’ll get to leave the house for the whole day! And talk about science! And use pipettors! And play with viruses! And have health insurance!

In honor of this great turn of events, I shall provide you with a delicious recipe for pumpkiny goodness. The day I baked these, I posted it as my Facebook status, and immediately had 5 people as for my recipe. I sent it off to my cousin, and she can let us know if she’s made them or if she’s done anything different.

Pumpkin bread and chocolate/raisin/pumpkin muffins
This recipe is actually the one I follow for pumpkin bread, and it makes 3 loaves. However,
I wanted some chocolate in my pumpkin muffins at the time of last baking, so I split the batter to make 2 loaves and about a dozen muffins. You could easily make 3 dozen or more large muffins by adding more chocolate and raisins (or whatever you like) to the entire amount of batter. Or you could make 2 or 3 different types of pumpkin muffins. Mmmm…cranberry walnut pumpkin muffins…..Right, focus.

Ingredients:
1 big can pumpkin puree
1 & 1/2 cups veg oil (I use 1 cup unsweetened applesauce and 1/2 C oil and pretend that makes it healthy)
4 cups white sugar (See? Really not so healthy)
6 eggs
4 & 3/4 cup flour
1 & 1/2 tsp baking soda
1 & 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 & 1/2 tsp salt
1 & 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1 & 1/2 tsp ground cloves
1 & 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg


1. Preheat oven to 350. Grease 3 9-inch bread pans or two pans and 12- 18 muffin cups.
2. Mix the liquid ingredients, then slowly add the dry ingredients.
3. Pour into the 3 bread pans, or pour batter into two bread pans, and reserve the rest for muffins.
4. Add 1 whole package chocolate chips (I used dark, and it was sooo delicious) and about 1/2 to 1 cup of raisins, mix well, and pour into the muffin cups.
5. Bake muffins for about 25 – 30 minutes, bread for 45 minutes to one hour, or until a knife inserted in the middle comes out clean.
6. Eat and enjoy!
Thoughts?

