Non-changing of the Seasons

5 Oct

Ah, October. The time of year when leaves start changing colors, the air gets cooler, and the smells of baking pie fill your house. Well, unless you live here, that is.

I got spoiled living in North Carolina. The autumn was so beautiful there, with all of my favorite colors painting the trees and shrubs throughout the city and countryside. Just driving on the highway on the way to work was an experience in color and beauty. Here in Louisiana, though, everything is still wonderfully green and the weather is just now dipping into the 70s. I imagine the fall here will be much like it was in Texas: everything stays green until one day you wake up to find the leaves have turned brown and fallen off. We’re still running our air conditioner for most of the day.

Picture from our NC balcony, last November.

On the bright side, I think we might be able to go without turning on the heat for most of the year.

Anyway, something about the changing of the seasons (whether they’re changing or not) combined with the sounds of football on TV make me want to eat warm soups and breads while knitting wooly hats, gloves, and scarves.

My sister-in-law has requested new hats for the kids this year. They don’t really need them often in Texas so I’m making adult sized hats for the older two, giving them more years of wear. Of course I’ve taken my job in selecting said hats very seriously and started one yesterday while listening to yet more rain outside.

This one, the Freyja hat (Interweave Knits Fall 2009) is for the middle child who reminds me very much of myself. As a two year old she is loud, bossy, and likes to get her own way. Once (maybe more than once, who knows?), she threw a temper tantrum in a group of people. When someone asked my brother who she got that from, he promptly replied “Gena.” However, I’m entirely sure I never behaved quite so reproachfully. Also, I wasn’t there to defend myself.

This is only my second attempt at Fair Isle colorwork, and it’s going okay so far. My floats are a tad on the loose side, but better too loose than too tight. The best part? I’m using the rest of the yarn from these. No trips to the store, no money spent, and clearing out some space in the yarn drawer.

P.S. Does anyone know why Blogger keeps randomly changing the spacing in my text? It’s been doing it for ages now, and I have no idea how to fix it.

Thoughts?

