Soup and Beer

24 Aug
Sounds like a pretty good supper to me.
Anyway, on Saturday we went with a group from GP’s new school department (physics – what a geek!) to a local brewery for a 10 minute tour and a few glasses of free beer followed by lunch. We had a great time and I got a chance to meet some of his classmates and other students and spouses. It was a really clean brewery and we had to wear the little blue footies over our flip flops and open-toed shoes. After just finishing yet another Lord of the Rings movie watching marathon, I opted to turn my boring blue booties into pointy elf shoes. Then I proceeded to take a picture of said booties and blog about it, thus lifting my geekiness to yet a higher level. I must be about maxed out of geek levels by now.
Sunday I layed around and read all day, but spurred myself to semi-action in order to make a really easy soup for our supper. GP got this recipe from a family friend and I must say it is easy and delicious, and if you swap the butter for about a tablespoon of olive oil, it would actually be really healthy. Of course, I just used the butter.
Zucchini Soup
Prep time: 10 minutes
Cook time: 30 minutes
Serves: maybe 4 as a main dish, 8 as a side or appetizer
Ingredients:
2 lbs grated zucchini (I just guessed and went with 5 medium sized zukes)
1/4 lb (1 whole stick) butter
2 T chopped onions or shallots (I actually used about a quarter cup chopped green onions, and I suspect leeks would be great too)
2 cans low-sodium chicken broth
1 C milk
1 tsp salt (not needed if your broth isn’t low sodium)
1 – 2 tsp curry powder (add to taste)
Right, so you start by grating up all the zukes. I did this while also reading a book, which I don’t recommend because I nearly grated off my thumb and forefinger several times. Still, it somewhat dulled the monotony of grating 5 zucchinis. You wind up with this huge, slimy pile of pale green stuff:
Then, you melt the butter in a large soup pot, add the onion and zukes, cover and cook on low for about 10 minutes. You don’t want it to brown, just soften a bit, so stir it a couple of times. Doesn’t that look yummy? Just kidding, it actually still looks a bit strange.
Step three: Add the chicken stock, milk, salt, and curry powder. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer, stirring occasionally, for 15 minutes or until zukes are really soft.
Now, puree the stuff. A nice hand blender would have come in very handy here (no pun intended), but instead I had to use the Magic Bullet blender attachment and go at it in two batches. Kinda messy, but hey, it got the job done. Mmmmmm….
That’s it. Ladle it into bowls and eat. I garnished mine with some more green onion slices and a tiny spoonful of plain yogurt while GP went for the sour cream. GP also told me that when he had this before they garnished with grated cheese. I think a nice mozzarella would be nice. Parmesan or romano would be okay too if you like things really salty like I do.
Apparently, you can serve this hot or cold, but I don’t really like cold soups. Seems a bit wrong, somehow.
Alright, that’s all I’ve got for you today! I’m off to …. do something. Get the oil changed in my car, read some more, generally be a lazy bum for the last week I have free before the job starts!
Thoughts?

