FO: Victorian Shawl

6 Aug
Finally, finally, I finished knitting the Victorian Shawl. My goal was to finish it before I moved to Louisiana, and I have just barely managed to pull it off. I spent the last few days working the needles until I thought my eyes would fall out. I also managed to get a little sore spot on my pointer finger where the yarn runs across the top of it. I met my goal, though, and knit the final border repeat this morning and promptly wove in the ends and dunked the thing in a sinkful of water.
This project (like so many lace projects) seemed to take forever to complete, but all the long hours of knitting were definitely worth it when I took out the pins!

Pattern: Victorian Shawl from Victorian Lace Today
Yarn: Unique Sheep Aurora, spiced apple colorway. All Laura’s hand dyed yarns are gorgeous and this one is absolutely beautiful.
Started: October 12, 2008
Finished: August 6, 2009 – Geez! This thing was in hibernation for a long time while I tackled some other projects. Like graduating and stuff. At least I got it finished before I hit the year mark!
Notes: This was a really simple knit, to be honest. The main problem was that the body portion got a little boring after a while. I mean, 25 repeats of a chart just gets dull, especially when its done in garter stitch. No purling on the entire body! Finally, though, I made it to the border. Oh, the border! The entire reason I took on this project was to knit that beautiful, drapey border, and I couldn’t be happier.
This shawl will get lots of wear in Louisiana, on all those days when a jacket is too much, but you need a little something to keep you warm. I’m tempted to go out to a movie tonight just so I have a reason to wear it! See, I would normally have gone outside and taken a ton of pictures with it draped oh-so-artistically across my shoulders, but 100% merino wool and 105o weather don’t really mix so well. One of the hazards of a Texas summer, I guess.
Thoughts?

