Nothing like chocolate…..

13 Apr

for stress eating! Let me tell you, I eat my emotions and right now, with the help of GP’s birthday cake, those emotions are really tasty! But no, they are not healthy.


Why am I so stressed out? Well, Wednesday (Tax day! Did you get yours filed?) I have a meeting with my advisory committee to see if they agree to let me finish my work and graduate this summer. It’s really nerve wracking, because I have no idea whether they’ll agree, or just laugh at me and tell me to go back to work and try again in the fall. So, I’ve been working 7 days a week for the past month or so, trying to get as much accomplished as I can. Which is why the blog has suffered so much lately.

Anyway, we have this cute little cake plate that my friend Zee gave us for our wedding. It’s extra special because Zee and I share the same birthday, and we use it for all the birthdays around here.


For his, GP wanted Fabulous Chocolate cake, and this recipe delivered big time. Here is the recipe as written by GP’s brother, who is the baker in the family. I’m not sure where this recipe originated from, but it’s one that GP and his siblings grew up on.

Fabulous Chocolate Cake

1 box (duncan hines is my fav) devils food cake mix (w/o pudding in the mix)

1 large box instant choco pudding
1 12oz. bag chocolate chips (or chunks, or peanut butter…mmm)
8oz sour cream
4 eggs
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup oil

preheat oven to 350º. Mix all that stuff in a big bowl for 3 minutes…it’ll go from a dark brown chocolate to a lighter shade of brown. Once it’s well mixed, pour it into a bunt cake pan. Bake at 350º for 50 minutes…check it every couple minutes from there until your knife comes out cleanly. Sprinkle top with powdered sugar when cool.

Ours went into an angel food cake pan, which GP swears is what you’re supposed to use, but right there the recipe says bunt. Whatever. Pour it into muffin tins and I bet it’ll still taste great.

Thoughts?

