Icarus Shawl

11 Jan
The Icarus shawl was my Mom’s Christmas present this year. Unfortunately, our camera battery died and I didn’t get a chance to take any pictures. So Mom kindly took some and emailed them to me.
Pattern: Icarus Shawl by Miriam Felton
Yarn: Bristol Yarn Gallery Buckingham (a silk/alpaca blend)


Needles: Size US 4 Addi Turbo Lace needles
Started: October 22, 2008 
Finished: December 23, 2008 (cut that one close!)
Mods: Despite having enough yarn according to the pattern, I didn’t actually have enough yarn to make a full sized shawl. So I cut out one repeat of the main body pattern (actually, I cut this repeat out because I was bored to tears and wanted to get done faster. Good thing I did, too!). Once I got to the feather repeat on the end, I had to cut out one of these repeats as well. I also cut out the written edging and did a simple, but really loose, crochet bind off because I didn’t have enough yarn for the specified bind off. I wound up with about 4 yards of yarn leftover. 
Still, I think it looks great, and Mom really likes it. It’s warm and soft, and a beautiful pattern. But I won’t be making this again for a long time.
Thoughts?

