Pre-Felting

3 Jan
At the LYS Christmas party we always have a Dirty Santa gift exchange (you may know this as a White Elephant gift exchange – you know the kind, where you can steal other people’s gifts). Well, the gift I first stole got stolen from me, so I stole another one, like any good game player. 
What I stole was the pattern and yarn for a Felted Bucket Hat. I love how this hat looks, and have wanted one for a long time, so it wasn’t any stretch for me to steal it away from it’s previous owner. 

I cast on and knit the entire hat last night while watching Matrix: Revolutions. Can I tell you how much I love the Matrix trilogy? It’s really fabulous for those of us who love philosophically laden sci-fi. And great action sequences. Anyway, that’s not quite the point here. 
The point is, I knit this hat, and pre-felting it fits about this well:
Now it’s time to throw it in the washer with some towels and see if we can get it to fit. I really only have one worry about this. See, the colors looked so beautiful all balled up, but now that it’s knit up, I’m afraid this hat will wind up looking like felted barf. If it does, I think I’l refer to it as the Barf Hat. We’ll see in a few days, when it’s felted and dried. 
Thoughts?

