I think it was the wool fumes

13 Dec
Back when I was younger (so much younger than todaaaay!) – sorry, songs pop into my head at random intervals. Anyway, back in the mid to early 90’s I was a hat wearing gal. I had tons of strange and weird hats that I would wear every chance I got. I was kinda known for having strange hats, although looking back, I’m not sure whether that is a good thing or a bad thing. 
One good thing about it is that I look good in hats. I can wear them well without looking dumb or like my head is weird shaped. Or maybe my head is weird shaped and hats disguise that, hence the reason hats look good on me? Whatever the reason, I found myself a couple of weeks ago at knit night being asked by someone to try on a shop sample. This time it was a beret (last time it was a skirt – strange). I don’t know if trying on that hat brought on a wave of nostalgia, or whether it was carrying excessive wool fumes, but I jumped up and bought the yarn and pattern immediately!
I cast on last Thursday, bound off last Friday, blocked on Saturday, and wore it to the shop Christmas party on Sunday (which was so much fun!). Easy peasy!
Pattern: Julie Beret by Thanh Gnuyen. There used to be a website for her patterns, but I can’t seem to find it anymore. It’s a really simple pattern, with just enough slouch for my liking. 
Yarn: Blue Sky Alpaca Suri Merino. It took about 2/3 of a skein; I think I’ll use the rest to line a hat for GP. Really though, this yarn is sooo soft and yummy! It’s a nice, thick single ply in a beautiful dark brown color. No itching the forehead, just soft and warm.
Needles: US size 7 Addi turbos, 12 inch circs
Notes: No mods made. No need, because the pattern is so easy to follow! I’ve already worn it several times this week, and figure I’ll be wearing it a lot this winter. I also think I’ll be making a couple more hats before the season is over.
PS – You see the very last doorway in those pictures? That’s totally where Santa lives every year between Thanksgiving and Christmas. I’ve met him! He’s shorter than you expect.
Thoughts?

